Turbo 350 vibration? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2009, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tucson Arizona
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Turbo 350 vibration?

I'm not sure I can describe this but I have a question. The trans, operates fine shifts, downshifts,no slipping. It's connected to a 250/6. In gear at an idle it feels like trying to go or like there is a higher load in the engine than there should be. You just give it a little gas car accelerates fine but in gear idling with the brake on it feels like the torque converter isn't letting the engine free wheel as it should. I don't know what the converter is rated at or out of since the trans and converter came from 2 different places. Does it sound like that would be a possibility or I may be way off. The trans has been in the truck for 3 years and it has always done it but I'm going to pull the motor and want to fix the trans. isssue if I can while it's out. Thanks, Eric

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:10 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
did you check the engine and transmission mounts to see if theyre bad??? they can make for a bad vibration while in gear at a stop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2009, 03:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 347
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would say either your convertor is locked up or it is the wrong stall. either way replacing it should cure your problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2009, 05:10 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Smaller 4cyl & 6cyl engines usually have converters with a higher/looser stall rating. That's why the truck wants to pull forward. The converter's probably from a V8 combo.
An old cheap way to get a high stall converter for a V8 engine with the TH350 trans was to use a converter from a 4cyl Vega.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2009, 03:46 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric64
I'm not sure I can describe this but I have a question. The trans, operates fine shifts, downshifts,no slipping. It's connected to a 250/6. In gear at an idle it feels like trying to go or like there is a higher load in the engine than there should be. You just give it a little gas car accelerates fine but in gear idling with the brake on it feels like the torque converter isn't letting the engine free wheel as it should. I don't know what the converter is rated at or out of since the trans and converter came from 2 different places. Does it sound like that would be a possibility or I may be way off. The trans has been in the truck for 3 years and it has always done it but I'm going to pull the motor and want to fix the trans. isssue if I can while it's out. Thanks, Eric
lets get back to basics here before you gop tearing into this thing when it may not be necassary.
whats the year of truck the trans came out of? does it have a blue plug on the drivers side of the case?
did you check the mounts prior to install? what trans was bolted up to the inline before installing the trans out of the truck? and what kind of car did you install this in?
did you know that when installing a converter for a rebuilt trans that has an inline that it takes the same converter as a v-8?? p/n: gm 350 from transtar.
the v-6's depending, usually take the same converter as well, but have seen some come with special hi stall converters depending on the application.
now i have an inline 6 250 and its got a 700R4 in it but the same theory still applies to having a broken trans mount. ive had the same problem with mine, and every time mine gets rough at idle in gear, its had a broken trans mount...
and the stall in my 700 is higher than the stalls listed in the pics ive posted below with the exception of the h.p. converters... check all your mounts out
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	350 converters.JPG
Views:	90
Size:	106.0 KB
ID:	36017   Click image for larger version

Name:	350 converters 1.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	106.4 KB
ID:	36018   Click image for larger version

Name:	350 converters 2.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	122.8 KB
ID:	36019   Click image for larger version

Name:	350 converters 3.JPG
Views:	65
Size:	112.8 KB
ID:	36020  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo 350 not shifting right Gearjammers Transmission - Rearend 5 10-24-2007 05:36 AM
350 or 383 for a Turbo application? Siggy_Freud Engine 15 07-23-2006 10:51 PM
350 Turbo noise fredmanky Transmission - Rearend 0 05-02-2006 07:01 AM
350 turbo to 400 turbo swap in lemans?? mtmniles Transmission - Rearend 8 01-24-2006 12:40 AM
Turbo 350 in a 66 ChevyII sledge57 Transmission - Rearend 1 10-06-2003 04:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.