turbo 400 failure to shift, or hold gears - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2002, 05:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face turbo 400 failure to shift, or hold gears

I'm new hear and would like to thanks you guys for this site. I have a 1985 chevy s-10 with a heavily built 350. Since i bought the truck it doesnt want to shift until approx 4500 rpm's. I have a B&M 3500 stall converter, and 4.11's in a 9 inch rear. Also if i let the gas go before shifting it drops to idle regardless os speed, then jumps back up to to speed the engine would be going for the MPH the trcks moving in first gear, then pulls again. Please help, modulator not sticking, but (sorry for being obviolious) but on the back of trans i took off the plate covering some sort of gear controled piece, looks like it has wings, well anyway only on side has a spring inside, could this be why, thanks a lot george
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2002, 07:28 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 7,951
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 218 Times in 207 Posts
Post

that winged thing is the governor, it controlls the trans shift v-s road speed someone probably removed the spring to make the trans shift at max rpm all the time, find another good used one and replace yours, they just slide in on a shaft.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2002, 08:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

i have an extra chevelle transmission, with an almost identical part (i believe its also a 400 trans) it has both springs, can i use those?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2002, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 478
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

You can use just the springs or the whole governor only if it's a th400. The th250,350 and 700R4 all use a different governor gear but they look very similiar so be sure it's a th400.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.