turbo 400 not shifting - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:31 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
turbo 400

I just switch carburetors and now tranny will not shift from second to third gear ? checked vacum hose and it appears to be OK ?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:33 PM
eloc431962's Avatar
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
 
Last wiki edit: Pilot bearing and bushings
Last journal entry: roof repair
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: back in the garage.
Posts: 13,762
Wiki Edits: 37

Thanks: 50
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by truckboy61
I just switch carburetors and now tranny will not shift from second to third gear ? checked vacum hose and it appears to be OK ?
Did you hook it to a port that has vacum on it? Or did the line come off at the trans ? Cole
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:50 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Did reconnect to vacum port on carb and still no shift
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:52 PM
eloc431962's Avatar
Evil Wicked Mean And Nasty
 
Last wiki edit: Pilot bearing and bushings
Last journal entry: roof repair
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: back in the garage.
Posts: 13,762
Wiki Edits: 37

Thanks: 50
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
You need to check under it on the trans where it hooks to the modulator it could have came off when you where changing things around. I have done it myself a time or two. If it was working before the swap it can't be much .JMO. Cole
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:19 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
turbo 400 not shifting

I have a turbo 400 thats not shifting from 2-3 gear. I already replaced modulator and checked hose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:25 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
do you have reverse?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 05:47 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes I have reverse just to give you some info I had a 780 Holley on my 454 that was giving me flooding issues ! so I changed carbs to a 650 I have and now my tranny is not shifting from 2-3rd. I was running vacuum from carb so I changed to intake manifold as well as modular on tranny still no luck !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 06:02 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
are you tryingto run ported vacumm or manifold vacumm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 06:32 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Im still learning and was told vacuum from manifold was correct way ? however the vacuum is stronger on 650 carb which one is correct ? I have a 454 in a 61 chevy with turbo 400 out of a 1988.

Last edited by truckboy61; 09-14-2009 at 06:33 PM. Reason: info missing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 06:46 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tranny was working correctly before I changed out carb. Is vacuum pressure different from carb to carb ? 780 - 650 both Holley's
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:07 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you need to be using manifod vacumm any vacumm source under the throttle blades anything above the throttle blades will be ported vaccum
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:29 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have placed nipple for vacuum on intake and it still is not shifting from 2-3 gear
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:43 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 355
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
have you verified good vacuum at the modulator?

Is it possible the shifter was knocked out of adjustment?

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2009, 08:00 PM
truckboy61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: california
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How would I verify ? It still manages to shift 1-2 and Im only assuming per vacuum ? please offer instruction and I'll try I need help !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo vs Supercharger - Write up!! FastChevyTruck Engine 107 02-16-2011 12:18 PM
350 turbo to 400 turbo swap in lemans?? mtmniles Transmission - Rearend 8 01-24-2006 12:40 AM
Turbo 400 help, Need to know what I did wrong MAD BOWTIE Transmission - Rearend 8 12-28-2005 08:39 AM
400 turbo to 350 turbo problems mikeweyman Transmission - Rearend 2 04-02-2003 05:58 PM
turbo 400 with transfer case to 700-r4 razzle Transmission - Rearend 3 11-04-2002 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.