turbo 400 not working - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2005, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coldwater Ohio
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
turbo 400 not working

Put a rebuilt 350 with a turbo400 in my 49 chevy pickup last fall. I rewired the entire truck and just turned it over today. It started up on the 1st crank.
I was so happy and proud because I never put a engine or wired anything in my life. Now for the bummer. The turbo 400 was in there with my 327 and it worked when I pulled it. I just put a lokar shifter it it Monday. When I put it in nothing. Now this might sound like a stupid question but mind you I never messed with a tranny before so bare with me. Should the torqe converter turn with the fly wheel even when the tranny is in park.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2005, 01:56 PM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
If the engine is turning........so should the torque converter.

They are bolted together...........isn't yours?

MIGHT be the problem.........
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2005, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coldwater Ohio
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Right after I posted this I got a stupid feeling. Your right the torque coverter
was not bolted up. I must of had a brain freeze. Anyhow It works fine after I put the bolts in the converter. Like I said this is all new to me and I am happy that it all is working so far. I would like to thank all the hep that I have recieved from this site. There is a lot of info that members had given me. I turn 50 in 13 days and It shows your never to old to start to learn if you want. Best of all it's been a good experence for myself and my 23 year old who has been helping

Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2005, 07:12 PM
M&M CUSTOM's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Transmission identification
Last journal entry: 1988 Suburban, the project continues.
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northwest Pennsylvania.
Age: 43
Posts: 2,231
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
At least it was something simple and cheap to fix (NO cost is the best form of cheap).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2005, 07:18 PM
OddRodder's Avatar
CORNFED and INBRED !?!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO.
Age: 53
Posts: 612
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 49dream
Right after I posted this I got a stupid feeling. Your right the torque coverter
was not bolted up. I must of had a brain freeze. Anyhow It works fine after I put the bolts in the converter. Like I said this is all new to me and I am happy that it all is working so far. I would like to thank all the hep that I have recieved from this site. There is a lot of info that members had given me. I turn 50 in 13 days and It shows your never to old to start to learn if you want. Best of all it's been a good experence for myself and my 23 year old who has been helping

Mark
Man!! That sounds dumb enough to be something that I would do!! Just KIDDIN' Mark!! Hey, the pickup DID start on the 1st crank, so you had to do alot of things right!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 turbo to 400 turbo swap in lemans?? mtmniles Transmission - Rearend 8 01-24-2006 12:40 AM
turbo 400 with deep pan orangecrush Transmission - Rearend 8 12-15-2005 03:46 PM
350 turbo or 400 turbo? nd500 Transmission - Rearend 2 02-21-2003 08:25 PM
convereter advise needed...turbo 400 Dave Y. Transmission - Rearend 4 02-12-2003 03:00 AM
Turbo 400 Sandman Transmission - Rearend 2 05-27-2002 02:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.