Turbo 400 pan will not stop leaking! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2012, 08:02 PM

Last journal entry: Time to drive..
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Turbo 400 pan will not stop leaking!

Hey Guys,
I am a pretty experienced mechanic, but gasket after gasket, fluid change after fluid change, the god for saking pan will not stop leaking. I originally thought it was the pan at first, after a thourogh inspection, I noticed the previous owner dag used some sort of grinder to get the remaining gasket off of the pan. So, I bought a new one, new gasket, and replaced. Still......leaks in three spots. Am I torquing it too much? too little? whats the torque rating on the pan?
Any thoughts or advice would be helpful.

Mike

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2012, 08:40 PM

Last photo:

Vent on top of tranny plugged up! Excess pressure!
Old 08-20-2012, 08:42 PM

Last journal entry: Time to drive..
Last photo:

How do I clear it?
Old 08-20-2012, 09:16 PM
http://www.warsprints.com

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:

Are you sure it's the pan gasket leaking and not from somewhere else and running down? Maybe the shifter seal or dip stick tube seal is leaking. Are you using a cork gasket or rubber? Make sure both surfaces are completely clean and dry. Install the gasket dry and torque the bolts to 12 ft.lbs. If you feel you need to use a sealer, use something like 3M Weather Strip Adhesive, not silicone.
Old 08-20-2012, 10:08 PM