Turbo 400 will not shift out of 1st manually - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2011, 02:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: League City, Texas
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Turbo 400 will not shift out of 1st manually

To start off, the trans was shifting fine either in manual or automatic mode. It is a pretty recent rebuild, has about 500 miles on it. If I start out at a stop light in Drive or 3rd, and take off the trans shifts through the gears perfectly. I can take off part throttle or full throttle and it shifts 1-2, 2-3 no issue.
When I start off in 1st, run it up to about 3500 and manually shift to 2nd it does not go into 2nd gear. I can run it up to 5000-5500, and it still does not shift. If I let off the throttle, or blip it a bit, it will eventually shift.
Before I started having this problem, I would run it up to 3500, and shift from 1-2 and get a nice firm shift with a chirp of the tires as it shifted.

Checked the fluid, trans is full.
Vacum line to modulator is connected with no leaks, engine pulls 18-22 lbs of vacum.
Checked the shifter and cable, and the cable is connected correctly.
My next step is to look at the valve bod, maybe 1-2 shift valve, but I could shure use some help from one of you guys with more trans experience.

Thanks for the help.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2011, 06:34 PM
123pugsy's Avatar
HOT ROD...... FROM A CHRYSLER?
 
Last wiki edit: Metal shaping
Last journal entry: FLOOR BEADS
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Markham,ON
Age: 52
Posts: 2,373
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 443
Thanked 261 Times in 227 Posts
Manual 2nd band or servo/apply pin issue?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2011, 02:56 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 134
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Leaking detent solenoid?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2011, 08:33 AM
OLNOLAN's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,040
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 367
Thanked 93 Times in 77 Posts
Da Govna

You may have a governor issue. If you manually shift 1st gear w/a t400 then floorboard it, it will shift 2nd without you moving the shifter. It shifts off the governor setting. My old 455 Buick shifted at about 4800 burning the tires pretty good. I knew a guy that had a ss396 Chevelle w/t400, his didn't shift off the governor till 5500. Maybe every other way you're changing gears is off the vacuum modulator. olnolan

Oh, When the governor plastic gear gets badly worn, it will stay in first and won't ever shift out. Had this happen to me before, had to drive about 20 miles home in first.

Last edited by OLNOLAN; 10-06-2011 at 08:38 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2011, 06:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: 10312
Posts: 135
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
i would also take a look at the govenor bore in the case if its worn.it can be reamed out and bushed theres a tool for that
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trans has no 3/4 gear,only shift when shifted manually. firebird trans Transmission - Rearend 1 09-25-2010 06:55 AM
700r4 I have to shift it manually KaliforniaBigBlock Transmission - Rearend 2 07-17-2009 05:52 AM
Turbo 400 Shift kit 71haulnazz Transmission - Rearend 1 09-18-2008 11:17 AM
HELP WITH B&M SHIFT KIT/TURBO 350 leejoy Transmission - Rearend 35 04-07-2006 10:08 AM
350 turbo shift kit 72chevy cruisin Transmission - Rearend 4 09-02-2004 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.