Turbo Big block - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2007, 06:58 PM
Mikey's Speed Shop!

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Turbo Big block

I want to turbo a big block in a 1963 Biscayne station wagon. right now, it is bone stock (the best to start with in my book) with the Powerglide and the 283 small block. I have a 8.1L out of a 2001 chevy pickup, and I was planning on using the Powerglide again with better guts. I also have the complete wiring harness and electronics package out of a 1992 Mustang GT 5.0 5 spd, and the A9L computer. the electronics I am familiar with. I am not familiar with which size turbo will fit this car the best. this is a budget build, as I am a semi- poor college student in Denver. I am looking at a single turbo, possibly 60 to 70 MM, I want to get about 600 HP and as much torque as possible. I have a good welder and I know how to use it, along with all the tools to fabricate the tubing. the car will be used for drag strip and cruising. I was thinking that maybe a stock turbo off of one of the late model diesel pickups might work too. I have been researching for a couple of weeks now, and havent found much info. I am looking for AR ratios and such to compare to. thanks for any info, mike.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-08-2007, 07:30 PM

Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 31

well, your not going to run a fuel injected Chevy 8.1l w/ the computer from a Ford 302

As for 600 hp, it's possible but, WHY? you could go a lot faster in a smaller car w/ less HP, if that's what you wanted, you picked the wrong car