Turbo Questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2004, 10:54 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Turbo Questions

are wastegates manditory? what do wastegates do on a turbo system??? do i need one?

Advertisement
Advertisement

Old 12-02-2004, 07:36 PM
beer and time

Last journal entry: right after paint
Last photo:

yep

im no turbolater mechanic but i would say they are mandatory!

The wastegate is operated by an air actuator. The actuator gets its air from the discharge side of the turbocharger. The waste gate has a spring and a diaphragm - the spring acts to keep the waste gate closed and the diaphragm acts with pressure to open the waste gate. The waste gate itself is simply a round hole with a cover that allows exhaust to bypass the turbine wheel when it is open. The actuator actually has a range of pressure where it starts to open, and will be fully open at a higher pressure. You are not likely to see or feel its effects, except that it limits the maximum boost you can get out of the turbo. As boost pressure increases, the air pressure overcomes a spring pressure within the actuator, and via an adjustable rod, the wastegate begins to open. When the wastegate opens, exhaust gasses that have been driving the turbine wheel, are diverted around the turbine, allowing it to slow down. The transition is relatively subtle, so one doesn't really feel it.
If the actuator fails to open the wastegate, the turbo will continue to boost, and the pressure it achieves will exceed what the engine can use. The fuel system has a failsafe built into it that cuts the ground signal to the fuel pump relay during an overboost. The cause of the overboost is usually caused by the actuator hose failing.