TV adjustment with lokar cable on 700R4 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 01:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TV adjustment with lokar cable on 700R4

Hi Folks.....new to your forum.

I have a street machine ...fuel injected chevy 350 with 700r4 3000 stall converter, B&M overdrive spool so the trany doesnt kick down at 3/4 throttle and the gil younger shift kit with corvette servos.

I am using the lokar TV cable and I cant seem to get it to shift properly.

Can anyone offer some advice?

thank you

Jeff

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 03:38 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
What is your geometry? It is very important that you have the correct bracket geometry where the cable attaches to your injection. Other than that the Lokar cable adjusts just like any other. Open your throttle all the way pull the cable out all the way and adjust the cable until it matches the WOT position. Then close the throttle and see if the unextended cable position matches the closed throttle position. Some pre-load on the cable is desired at idle position.

Have you visited the 700R4.com web site for instruction?

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 05:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lokar cable

Thank you for the reply.

The way I have it set now is I pulled on the TV cable until it wouldn't move any more at full throttle. I dont know if that positions the valve in the proper position in the closed throttle position.

Is there a preferred method of verifying the geometry?
how much pre load should be on the cable at closed throttle and how does one measure that?

thank you

Jeff
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 06:32 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The idle position is usually set with a pressure gage attached to the trans. You pull it out just a little until you see the pressure rise and that is the idle position. Without the pressure gage just pull it out about 3/16" of an inch.

The geometry at the throttle has to be correct, that is to say that the ratio of the cable travel has to be correct for the given throttle movement. A lot of adjustment to shift points and overall feel can be made with an adjustable throttle crank.

What injection system do you have?

Be advised that an improperly adjusted TV cable can ruin the trans in a very short time .

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2009, 12:25 AM
C-10's Avatar
Revolution Calling
 

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashport, Ohio
Posts: 920
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
The pressure is a very good indicator of condition and trouble shooting.

Here is a wordy write-up on the TH700R4 throttle valve.
.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2009, 06:21 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
This is for the BTO kit but, has some Info, Step #4> http://www.tvmadeez.com/tvcable_inst...aidedcable.php
And here. >> http://www.tvmadeez.com/tvcable_inst...dedadjust.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 05:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the pointers.
Where do I connect the pressure gage and what range should the gage be?

thx

Jeff
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 10:35 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjlabinski
Thanks for the pointers.
Where do I connect the pressure gage and what range should the gage be?

thx

Jeff
Check here>> http://www.tvmadeez.com/pressure_test/index.php

Todd
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 4r TV cable - no WOT, hard 1-2, no kickdown 60smotorhead Transmission - Rearend 27 07-28-2009 05:24 AM
700r4 trans problems , TV cable? eliot Transmission - Rearend 4 07-05-2009 06:54 PM
700r4 tv cable ? novaman30274 Transmission - Rearend 2 02-23-2007 05:12 PM
how to ajust TV cable on the 700R4 k-1500.coy Transmission - Rearend 4 12-22-2006 05:30 AM
700r4 detent cable adjustment chrisf67 Transmission - Rearend 2 03-28-2003 04:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.