underdash brake system - clean up firewall - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-28-2003, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Posts: 33
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
underdash brake system - clean up firewall

Has anyone used one of those underdash brake systems? Im curious about putting one on my 61 chevy wagon. I'd like to have the firewall totally smooth. Let me know if youve got any good or bad experiences. also what brand and approx. cost..

thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2003, 02:03 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We use that set-up on our racecar and it works perfect. I'm sure it would work great for you also. It would be manual brakes, but with the right brakes they would stop great. Use remote reservoirs and put them somewhere you can get to them. Wilwood makes them, and you can get all kinds of different master cylinders for them. You can find them at any oval track parts supplier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2003, 02:10 PM
TooMany2count's Avatar
A Half Crippled Old SOB....
 
Last wiki edit: GM RPO build codes Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cahokia,IL..... Donate Blood Products & Sign your DONORS CARD
Posts: 807
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
check the 1st series of snub nose Dodge vans, like this one http://www.fawcett-movie-cars.com/70...gevan275th.jpg they use an angled M/S under the hood because of clearance && they're set up for power disc brakes too..........joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2004, 11:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Vermont
Age: 60
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have one on my 48 chevy fleetline. you can use power brakes with these. My only problem, because I didn't use a remote fill, is getting brake fluid in there. I'm just in the process of bleeding the system.

about $200 without the master cyl.

about $200 without the master cyl.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Suspension - Brakes - Steering posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.