Used Cam / New Block - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2012, 01:45 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Used Cam / New Block

G'day All,

I have a 292H used cam broken in nicely and looks great, done about 300 miles.
Engine is 350 sbc.
I've heards that it's a gamble to put a 'broken in' cam into a different block under any circumstances due to different lifter bore alignments. I ran this past an engine builder here, and he says that breaking in a flat tappet cam is dicey at the best of times, and that if I have one that is already broken into the lifters, then that that is an advantage that outweighs any lifter alignment issues.

I'm confused, I don't wanna buy another cam if I don't have to, but I don't want to take any unnecessary risks. I have broken cams in before ( solid and hyd) without any issues.

Can anyone please give me your opinions on this?

BTW, the lifters have been keep in order.

Thanks in advance!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2012, 03:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Duffield ,Va
Age: 67
Posts: 526
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinwhiteduke
G'day All,

I have a 292H used cam broken in nicely and looks great, done about 300 miles.
Engine is 350 sbc.
I've heards that it's a gamble to put a 'broken in' cam into a different block under any circumstances due to different lifter bore alignments. I ran this past an engine builder here, and he says that breaking in a flat tappet cam is dicey at the best of times, and that if I have one that is already broken into the lifters, then that that is an advantage that outweighs any lifter alignment issues.

I'm confused, I don't wanna buy another cam if I don't have to, but I don't want to take any unnecessary risks. I have broken cams in before ( solid and hyd) without any issues.

Can anyone please give me your opinions on this?

BTW, the lifters have been keep in order.

Thanks in advance!

If the lifters are in the correct location that they were when it was broke in you will probably be OK. But Murphy's Law is pretty prevalent sometimes. It's a chance that you will have to determine. Good Luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2012, 03:20 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,939
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 759
Thanked 1,008 Times in 847 Posts
Please read this....
http://www.crankshaftcoalition.com/w...ips_and_tricks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2012, 12:37 AM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Hey guys, thanks dgcantrellsr and *techinspector for your input. Pretty much what I was reckoning, I'm not much of a gambler when I comes down to mechanics. Murphy's Law will surely come back and bite me. Pity, i have the cam/followers and springs, never mind.....Ok so now I got 2 or 3 sexy doorstops!!*

Alright so I'm gonna get a brand new cam and go through the break in procedure, no prob.**

I really prefer a solid cam *any way so I'm gonna opt for the Comp Cams 294S *or maybe a 280B-8. (or maybe not) there are so many cams out there!! **

I wonder If I can lean on the knowledge of you guys to point me right?

My set-up is:-

350 sbc .030" over with 10.5 to 11.0 :1 *comp ( not determined yet)
Whatever I can get with*KB hypers flat tops (no machining done yet)
Sportsman ll heads 64cc with 202/160 SS Manley *street flows
Victor Jnr with Holley 750 mech
2 speed p/glide. *(sorry). *with 3000stall
Full length headers into 2" twin exhaust system
And 3.55 rear with 25" tyre
In a 3300lb car

I have a set of *1.65:1 *ratio Harland Sharp Roller Rockers that I would like to use, only just because I have them already, but won't use me if it's gonna compromise my set up. If I do use them do I use the AFR #8000 springs?
I know I gotta check geometry etc.*
Or should I just buy some 1.5 rockers?
If so which springs should I use - comp cams has two types listed?
Plus, do I get the 'best' quality lifters available? I only want to do this once!!
I have other engines to work n too.*

I want a 'heavy' street deal *(just like most guys) *with strip meets approx monthly.*

I *know that the powerglide is probably not REALLY in my favor, but that's just the way it is ATM.*

If you could let me know your thoughts, that would be much appreciated.*

Many thanks!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2012, 07:55 AM
stich626's Avatar
gearheadslife
 

Last journal entry: The TwoTonShu #10
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 372
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I blueprint all my lifter bores, so I never have an issue running used cams out of one of my engines to the next..
valvetrain gear can get costly.. I even do it on roller blocks, so the rollers are in the same spot, engine to engine,,
saves you allot of money when you blow up an engine..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2012, 08:21 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,063
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 17
Thanked 325 Times in 305 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stich626
I blueprint all my lifter bores, so I never have an issue running used cams out of one of my engines to the next..
valvetrain gear can get costly.. I even do it on roller blocks, so the rollers are in the same spot, engine to engine,,
saves you allot of money when you blow up an engine..
At a high end race level that may make sense but the cost of blueprinting the lifter bores would be more than a new cam, seems a little excessive for a street engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2012, 09:06 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stich626
I blueprint all my lifter bores, so I never have an issue running used cams out of one of my engines to the next..
valvetrain gear can get costly.. I even do it on roller blocks, so the rollers are in the same spot, engine to engine,,
saves you allot of money when you blow up an engine..
That's interesting stich, that crossed my mind initially, but I didn't realize that it was something that people 'actually' do....
This is a bit of a budget build so I might just give that a shot!, I got the time.

What's the proceedure there? Put the blue on the lobes only then drop the lifters, rotate, then check?? Can't be that complicated, surely.
Can you please give me a brief rundown on how you do it?

Thanks,
Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long block short block fitted block what do opelitis5 Hotrodding Basics 4 01-10-2010 06:12 PM
Need advise for trade. 408 short block for dart iron eagle block sherman8r Engine 6 12-06-2009 04:37 PM
BLOCK Sanding dyna block or LONGBOARD?? D9ZZ Body - Exterior 6 06-26-2008 08:10 AM
small block big block weight difference Jmark Engine 3 02-04-2008 12:21 PM
can i use small block motor mounts for a big block? 402 Camaro Engine 5 01-25-2008 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.