Using an altenator for turbine - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2007, 11:49 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Using an altenator for turbine

I wanted to know if it was possible to use an altenator to generate power using wind/water? Does it spin fast enough? And if so I should be able to connect wires to the battery directly from a fuse box ? Im no mechanic Im just an unbolt and replace kind a guy. Thanks for the info
Ray

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2007, 12:09 PM
C6, the C5 of tomorrow

Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayvan41
I wanted to know if it was possible to use an altenator to generate power using wind/water?
Yes

Quote:
Does it spin fast enough?
Maybe, kindas depends on a lot of variables...
look at the pullys on your car and figure out how fast the alt is turning when the engine is running at 3000 rpm. thats probably a good speed for the alternator to put out a good power.

Notice the big pully on the crank and the small pully on the alt. That alt is really spining.

Quote:
And if so I should be able to connect wires to the battery directly from a fuse box ?
if you mean" can I connect the alternator directly to a 12 volt car or deep cycle battery". Yes.

Quote:
Im no mechanic Im just an unbolt and replace kind a guy. Thanks for the info
Ray

Then maybe you should buy a kit

Keith
Old 08-20-2007, 03:06 PM
zim@Eagle Mi.

Last photo:

Those little 12v bulbs arn't good enough to read by but you might find a 12v TV

Maybe you could put the prop on the top of your car and save the extra hp.
Old 08-20-2007, 05:34 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator