V-belt to serpentine - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2007, 07:55 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

V-belt to serpentine

Hello all,

I have been looking around trying to figure out how to convert to serpentine belt system on my '86 z28. Some people are saying go with an 800 dollar kit, some say they are doing fine with parts from junk cars.

What is the cheapest way THAT WORKS, while keeping AC.
If you can go into detail that would be great, I am new to this.

THANKS!!!

-Andrew

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2007, 08:00 PM
You got a leaky spark tube...

Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 19

These aren't cheap but they do come with everything you need.
http://store.summitracing.com/egnsea...115+4294840140

You can probably also find an almost identical setup from a wrecked Chevy pickup. You could look for some of the late 80s-early 90s Camaro/Firebird but the pickups are probably easier to find.
Old 05-29-2007, 08:02 PM
Some Punk Kid

Last photo:

If you can find a good donor car from a junkyard you should be able to pick up everything for half the cost of the new GMPP $500(no AC) $800(AC) dollar kit from jegs or summit. With the 800 kit everything is shiny and new. From a junker things can be broken or borderline on their long term potential. IE power steering or alternator or compressor could be seized or whatever.
Now if you get your pick from running cars thats a whole different story. You could test everything and see if it is all alright.
Old 05-29-2007, 09:39 PM
Not Considered a Senior Member

Last photo: