V6 -V8 swap Car wont crank - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 01:02 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
V6 -V8 swap Car wont crank

im having a problem, i converted a v6 camaro to a LT1 V8 car but she want crank. i rebuilt the motor and dropped it in. i had a donor car and took the computure,wire harness and put it in. im not getting and fuel or fire but shes turning over fast enough but its not hitting. im thinking its the computer but don't want to buy one and thats not the case.can anybody HELP!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo[1] - Copy.JPG
Views:	63
Size:	1.31 MB
ID:	56133   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo[1] - Copy (3).JPG
Views:	41
Size:	1.40 MB
ID:	56134  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 06:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 195
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You are going to have to go back over your work and make sure that all the wiring and connections are fine, all your grounds are fine. How are the fuses and relays? Time to diagnose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 10:17 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,534
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 148 Times in 135 Posts
You say it won't crank, then you say it IS turning over. Which is it? To most people, "won't crank" means "doesn't turn over with the starter".

In any case, it sounds like a VATS system problem. The computer is looking for the correct resistor chip in the key and your old ignition key apparently isn't the right one. You need to change the VATS programming or bypass it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 11:14 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,764
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 426 Times in 365 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_padavano
You say it won't crank, then you say it IS turning over. Which is it? To most people, "won't crank" means "doesn't turn over with the starter".

In any case, it sounds like a VATS system problem. The computer is looking for the correct resistor chip in the key and your old ignition key apparently isn't the right one. You need to change the VATS programming or bypass it.
X2

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 03:31 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,229
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 103
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
X3, I've installed over 100 remote starters using bypass modules from here . Just figure out what you have, VATS, CAN, etc., or, like Bogie says, get the right keys.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2011, 08:20 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so do i need to go to a chevy dealership and get the computer program to the key or go get a bypass module put on guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2011, 05:13 PM
Steel's Avatar
The Ultimate Lurker;)
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fostoria, Ohio
Age: 41
Posts: 113
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does your security light stay lit? Have you double checked your ground coming off your PCM. Without that ground it will have symptoms similar to what your having....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2011, 06:36 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes Its stayn on plus I ran a jumper wire off the negative battery post and stil the same
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2011, 07:32 PM
Steel's Avatar
The Ultimate Lurker;)
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fostoria, Ohio
Age: 41
Posts: 113
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Then as everyone else has said, you need to bypass your VATS. You may be able to have the VATS tuned out of your PCM. Go to LT1PCMtuning.com and give Solomon a shout and see if he can help ya out.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2011, 08:13 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I look into the vat and my ignition wires were broke in the steering column I replaced them and the security light went but still having the same problem. I check the fuel injectors wit noel light and they didn't flash too now I'm lost
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2011, 08:22 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,229
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 103
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
What do you mean you looked into the vat?? The light going out isn't an indicator the ignition is energized, you need to disable (bypass) the VATS system with a module, they're relatively cheap until you get into the CAN series.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-14-2011, 07:09 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Not tryin to sound slow but what is the module bypassing plus did the BCM needed to be change to or that's plays no part
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-14-2011, 12:15 PM
RippinRon's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Thornbury, Ontario
Age: 33
Posts: 948
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
VATS Vehicle Anti Theft System, there is a resistor on the key. Google it or check thirdgen.org
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 05:22 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: mississippi
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got the VATS bypass module that will fit my car but having a hard time installing it. I download the guide to install it but its shows and remote starter to connect to also Should i get a diagram of the car`s wiring to the theft module and put them together like....im ready to give-up on the build NOW.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2011, 07:25 PM
Steel's Avatar
The Ultimate Lurker;)
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fostoria, Ohio
Age: 41
Posts: 113
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You will need to find a wiring diagram and identify the VATS wire coming from the PCM going to the ignition. Then you will need the return wire coming from your ignition to the PCM. Once you find them you just terminate the module wires across them completing the circuit thus taking the key resistor out of the picture. I'm sure if you Google it you'll find the diagram you need..........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 wont crank GMCustom Engine 4 02-11-2011 09:31 AM
motor swap it wont crank at all help? 81scottsdale400 Engine 17 12-23-2010 01:54 PM
Wont crank TroyBoy Electrical 9 09-03-2010 06:14 AM
Wont crank Niko1080 Engine 3 07-22-2009 01:35 AM
Car Wont Crank ponybuster Engine 13 11-28-2003 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.