vacuum advance problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2002, 11:41 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post vacuum advance problem

i have been struggling with the ignition on this motor since i have had it. i have replaced the springs, weights, and vacuum advance. then i started playing with the timing. motor still had a miss at various rpms and throttle positions. at wot it would hesitate but not miss, but it started to miss after 5gs. finally i got to guessing and disconnected the vacuum advance. everything works fine, no miss and she will pull until she blows. when disconnecting the vacuum advance the motor idles about 150 higher. my question is why is my vacuum ADVANCE, retarding my timing? could the weights be on backwards, but i would think the motor would run horrible now. for now i just drive it without the vacuum advance. any ideas or suggestions?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-12-2002, 03:08 PM

what is the motor chev,ford,doge, foriegn.? is it single points.elec.coil pick up ? and what is the timing set at with the vac unpluged and the vacuum port pluged up.?
Old 12-12-2002, 03:23 PM

it is a chevy motor with the hei ignition. i do not have a timing light. timing is set right before any drag occurs whiles starting (8-10). i am using the stongest springs in the pack so i know it is not over advancing. when i drove it today it ran stonger than it ever has(without vacuum advance). i can only imagine how it could run with it working properly. there is no detonation or valves pinging under a load either.

[ December 12, 2002: Message edited by: tonylsg ]</p>
Old 12-12-2002, 03:34 PM