Verijet choke problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2011, 10:44 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Verijet choke problems

I have for almost two (2) years been building a 3-wheel motorcycle using a Chevy S-10 2.8L engine, 700R4 tranny, and rear end.

I recently purchased a Verijet Carburetor with an automatic choke that I have put on it.

The choke has only one (1) wire hook up and I need to know what I need to get it to work.

I basically stripped everything off of the engine (sensors and such) and did away with all computer related things.

OR, would it just be easier to put a manual choke conversion kit on it?

I previously had a different Carb mounted on it and got it to crank for a short time long enough to realize that it was over carbureted, so this is why I went with the Verijet.

I really need help with this as the area where I live is very limited on info.

Fixing this choke problem and re-making more cable mounts is all that is keeping me from getting this motor cranked.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2011, 11:01 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
A 1-wire choke like you have will require a 12VDC source for the wire, the ground is supplied through the carb to the engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2011, 10:49 AM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,307
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
An electric choke is very simple thing.
When 12 volts is applied to the terminal an electric heater is activated inside the housing.
Also inside the housing is helical bi-metallic coil.
As the coil gets warmed by the heater it uncoils and drives the choke butterfly open.
If the engine is already warm the choke will remain open.
So ambient temperature, engine temperature and electric heater affect the position of the choke butterfly.
The power feed to the choke can be connected to a fused ignition ON circuit so any time the ignition is on the choke heater will be activated.
Another method is to wire in series with the choke wire, an additional oil pressure switch that closes as the oil pressure increases. That way the choke will operate only when the engine is running.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:08 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can it be wired to the back of the Alternator?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:31 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,519
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 146 Times in 133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by equayonv
Can it be wired to the back of the Alternator?
One option is to use the FIELD terminal on the alternator (the #1 terminal on the GM internal regulator alternator) to close a relay that then powers the choke. The field terminal is the only one that's not hot all the time.

The oil pressure switch is an alternate method and is what's commonly used by GM in factory installations. If you use the switch, you can run a wire from the BAT stud on the alternator, through a 20 amp fuse, to one terminal on the oil pressure switch. Run another wire from the other terminal on the switch to the choke. The original application for that carb should have an oil pressure switch listed as well, but you can also use the one from any mid-1980s GM pickup with a carb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-25-2011, 03:41 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
You can also specify an idiot light oil pressure switch for a '80 Malibu w/the 229 V6 (likely all engines, but I'm positive of this particular one- it's sitting in the drive).

This switch/sender activated a "CHOKE/OIL" lamp on the dash if there was a problem w/either, and the choke circuit was routed through it, so there's no doubt it can handle the current.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:38 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got the choke wired in and it is working but I also need to know where to run a vacuum line for the distributor vacuum advance.
There are four places on the front of the carb.
One is to the right of the others by its self.
The other three are vertical to each other with the bottom one running to the primary vacuum break.
Which one do I put the vacuum hose on for the distributor?
I added a picture. Hope this helps.


By the way, I tried to start it up and it cranks but races extremely high for a couple of seconds and then dies.
Any ideas why?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chevrolet-Monza-Citation-Celebrity-Carburetor-80-81-82-for-sale_390269417954.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	16.4 KB
ID:	52058  

Last edited by equayonv; 01-29-2011 at 10:06 PM. Reason: attempting to add a picture
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2011, 08:17 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey,
I got it running!
Thanks Folks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with choke wiring glhx Electrical 6 01-13-2010 06:52 PM
Stove Choke problems mr_biggleswurf Engine 6 09-25-2007 03:15 PM
electric choke problems Factory Fastboy Engine 6 04-11-2007 04:38 PM
electric choke problems JG700 Engine 6 04-04-2007 03:48 PM
demon choke problems gr8z28 Engine 11 11-25-2005 12:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.