Very high oil pressure causing leaks - Page 4 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 12:51 PM
Project89's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: utah
Posts: 939
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pupsvette76 View Post
ok so if i removed the crankcase evac kit and used a PCV system how would that would this is a turbo car would the boost in the manifold plumbed to the PCV valve force the valve to close at WOT when i actually need the PCV valve to operate the most

here is how i run mine , pcv valve hooked up like normal in the driver side valve cover( with a check valve), then i weld an an fitting in the passenger cover inplace of the breather hole , this line attaches to a catch can i made , the line attaches in the middle of the can, on the top of the can is another line that attaches to my compressor inlet , this sytem works great




the top line on the can attaches to the air filter pipe on the turbo inlet



pcv operates normally under non boost contditions, and under boost the pcv is closed and the line attached to the turbo inlet takes over

edit

the reason the line off the valve cover is in the middle of the catch can is when there is suction if oil comes out of the valve cover , when the air/oil mix enters the can the air goes up and the oil droplets fall into the bottom of the can,if the lines are across from each other or nexto each other in the can , u will get oil in the turbo compressor side and cold pipes

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 01:27 PM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does an oil pressure sender use its threading to ground and complete a circuit because I have mine threads into a brass adapter which both sets of threads have sealer on them possible effecting a ground
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 02:29 PM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,211
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
sending unit

yes it does.. u may want to pull it and just use one rap of teflon tape.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 02:32 PM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not sure but that may be a contributing factor cuz the sender has sealer in it threaded into into a pipe extension with sealer threaded into an adapter with sealer on it which may be effecting the senders output signal
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 03:37 PM
Project89's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: utah
Posts: 939
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pupsvette76 View Post
I'm not sure but that may be a contributing factor cuz the sender has sealer in it threaded into into a pipe extension with sealer threaded into an adapter with sealer on it which may be effecting the senders output signal
this is why i always verify an electronic gauge against a mechanical
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 04:49 PM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You're 100% right and so are rest of the guys who said it verifying with another electrical gauge is not good lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 04:50 PM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gonna try to do that today not sure if I'm man enough though since here in ny it's been crazy hot for the last two weeks at least and is especially uncomfortable today
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2013, 06:11 PM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok so checked with a mechanical gauge the pressure at idle is 50-51psi and at WOT is like 80-85
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2013, 08:33 AM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does that sound about right to you guys?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2013, 08:47 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 8,718
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 17
Thanked 289 Times in 269 Posts
sounds a little high, but not far off from normal. usually you're looking at about 40psi at idle, 65psi at WOT.

with your high pressure some people would move down a weight in oil viscosity- you'll see a little more flow that way and your pressure will drop a little. There are other factors to consider of course but it can be worth some power and mileage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2013, 09:53 AM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a lighter weight than 5w-30? thats really light already witht he turbo isnt it dangerous to run thinner oil than that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2013, 10:00 AM
Project89's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: utah
Posts: 939
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pupsvette76 View Post
a lighter weight than 5w-30? thats really light already witht he turbo isnt it dangerous to run thinner oil than that?
man u are brave, and i know alot of ppl will run that oil with a turbo, but i myself wont run anything other then 20-40 or rottella 15-40 in any of my turbo engines

but then again my engines are all set up loose on the bottom end and i modify the oil pumps as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2013, 10:57 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 8,718
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 17
Thanked 289 Times in 269 Posts
a good turbo can handle 0w-30 or 0w-20 with no problem provided you're not overheating anything and your tune is good.

An ebay turbo... I don't know. I'd probably run it at 0w-30 if I were you as it'll provide adequate pressure and more flow, and more flow is a good thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2013, 11:49 AM
Pupsvette76's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: no spark and fuel pump issue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: smithtown
Posts: 467
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah I may try it out next oil change and also I have to pull the restrictor and still it out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oil pressure sending unit leaks Lthompson Hotrodding Basics 11 10-03-2012 11:38 AM
high volume and high pressure oil pumps can destroy cam and distributor gears! Knobie Engine 75 02-13-2011 02:22 PM
Excessive oil pressure causing bearing erosion? jtybt15 Engine 8 04-14-2009 06:03 PM
Do I have a high volume or high pressure oil pump ? y2k600f4 Engine 6 12-16-2008 07:12 PM
which oil pump for a 406? high volume or high pressure? 406 ss monte Engine 23 09-10-2006 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.