Hot Rod Forum banner

Vette Fiberglass Prep Question

1K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  35prog 
#1 ·
I'm brand new to this, but I'm planning to prep and paint my 85 Vette. It was hit on one side, and I just want to change colors completely after repairing it.

How far down should I be sanding it? I'm planning to hit it with epoxy primer, then a bc/cc. I see a few layers, and I'm not sure if I should stop early, or sand all the way down to the glass? Is there gelcoat on these vettes, and if so, which layer is it?

Also, in the front, there may have been work done already, I can't tell (where the little square is cut out). There appears to be a yellowish layer that's also present in the flexible rear part through some paint cracks. What is this?

What sandpaper would you suggest? I was just sandblocking with 80 grit, and then planning to move to 220. I can also DA. Would this be sufficient?

Any other advice would be appreciated. I only know bodywork in theory, and am pretty unfamiliar with fiberglass as a whole. I know its a ton of questions, but I'm just trying to get it close to perfect. Thanks for any advice in advance!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
The gel coat is always on the visible side. To repair a crack you should taper the area (from the back side) 10 times as wide as the material is thick. Fill the area with layers of cloth and resin. (on the back side) Then use an epoxy filler on the visible side to fill and smooth the crack. From there it is going to be primer, color and clear to your mood.

#4 ·
The gel coat is under the paint and on top of the glass. If you hit glass you have penetrated the gel coat.