Vibration - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2003, 03:08 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Vibration

I recently pulled my engine and tranny out. Had the tranny rebuilt. The engine was fine and had been recently rebuilt by the previous owner about 2K miles ago. After installing the rebuilt tranny with a brand new clutch and pressure plate (Centerforce II) The car ran fine for about 15 miles. Then it developed a vibration. The vibration is not at idle it's only when I give it a little gas. Everyone seemed to think it was the clutch including the tranny guy. I called Centerforce and they ask if I used the proper shoulder bolts when mounting the pressure plate. I miss placed the original bolts over the winter and being a novice I just went out and bought new Grade 8 bolts (without shoulders).
I didn't have the enthusiasm to pull the tranny again so I got the tranny guy to pull it and I sent the clutch back to Centerforce who checked it for balance and said it was fine. So I was sure it was the bolts. I purchased new shoulder bolts made specifically for the pressure plate and figured that would do it.
Well to make a long story longer, the tranny guy put it all back together new bolts and all and it still vibrates.
He pulled the tranny and clutch again and with no tranny or clutch installed he started the engine and it does the same thing. So it has to be in the engine. The flywheel seems fine.
I did very little to the engine when it was out except plugs, wires, cap, and oil. When I get the car back next week I plan on rechecking the wires which I did when I first noticed the vibration.
Any other suggestions???

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement