Vintage Air mounting - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:44 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 59
Posts: 1,395
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Vintage Air mounting

G'mornin' everyone,

I am looking for some inspiration here (or maybe just a little validation )-last weekend I hung my VA GenII a/c/heater assembly, and I have a problem-it's about 3/4" too thick, and my Dash won't bolt down at the bottom properly.

I think I have a few choices-

1. drop the a/c unit down about 4-5", re-mount (not sure how that would look).

2. modify the a/c Box (which Vintage Air does not recommend)-

3. Change the Dash (which is finished and I really don't wanna, but.......)-

So, I was wondering if anyone might have some pictures of the way that they mounted their a/c unit, problems addressed, how low, etc.-sorry that I don't have any pictures (should have taken some)-it looks great as it is now (as far as how it sits under the Dash, but maybe it is a bit high)-has anyone modified a VA unit?

If you would, would you please post a picture of your a/c unit? Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:14 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Finally some floor!
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Point,IN.
Age: 65
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm sorry about your woes, but I will be watching this thread closely. I'm getting ready to start my Gen II install myself. Any words of wisdom? Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:19 AM
boothboy's Avatar
More bucks, go faster!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Grass Valley, CA.
Posts: 596
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 183
Thanked 276 Times in 247 Posts
How about a couple of pics showing how it looks now installed and what is obstructing it from behind.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:40 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 59
Posts: 1,395
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Gosh, I would love to show a few pictures, but I won't be close to the Car until Saturday-basically, it is against the Firewall (to the front), and, of couse, the dash on the other side-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:00 AM
bentwings's Avatar
bentwings
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: St.Paul, Minn
Age: 72
Posts: 1,796
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
I have an under dash VA unit with the heat and def option. To get a little more "push bach" under the dash I used copper tubing and standard copper fittings soldered. I routed the in and out lines from the heat as close as possible to the unit and down the right side. This alows the unit to be more permanently mounted and very close to the fire wall. Additionally the heater hoses are easily accessed from the side. Also I used the Easy Loc AC fittings rather than the traditionally crimp style. You purchase a special crimp tool for $45 and crimp the lock tabs yourself. A big plus is that the lines are much smaller and more flexible.....and less expensive.

Truck AC service places have these.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 04:44 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A few ongoing projects
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
It may be apples and oranges as Iím using a Hot Rod Air (now out of buisness) unit in my 83 El Camino. It was their universal setup and really tight, but itís in. It took several test fits to get the initial installation in the right place and clear everything. I did have to do some slight trimming in a couple of places on the underside of the dash (I had the dash on and off probably half a dozen times in the process).




In my case it was actually easier to modify and use the factory ducting than the included hoses. I did have to cut a piece of foam to act as a seal, but that was relatively simple.





It was still a bit tight, and the dash is bowed by probably 3/8Ē , but it is definitely not noticeable. I donít have a picture of it, but I also had to narrow the inside of the glove box down to about Ĺ the size, not a big deal as it was plastic and easy to work with.



Rather than use the HRA controls which I thought looked pretty ugly, I modified the factory controls to work the unit.





When all was said and done visually you canít tell that there is an aftermarket unit instead of the factory setup.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:52 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not sure I understand your problem. I have installed VA in my 36 PU, my Buds 37 PU and a VA copy by Southern Air (BIG MISTAKE) in my 36 coupe and had no dash clearance problems. The 35,6, and 7 dash dimensions are identical. Looks as though you may have a custom dash. Never the less, you can lower the the unit as stated and build a drop down to reduce the impact. The drop down can be used to install switches, heat and air vents, control heads etc, and keep the dash from becoming cluttered with the same.


Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 06:57 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 59
Posts: 1,395
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Thanks everyone for your reply, I think I'm still going to have to do either option #1 or #2 (more likely #1)-

I set myself up for this one as I modified my Dash, but I am happy with it (the Dash). I have a Console in mind that I'm going to fab up in Metal, so if I drop it that will "hide" it-thanks again, and, as they say, "onward and upward"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:07 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 59
Posts: 1,395
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by trees
Not sure I understand your problem. I have installed VA in my 36 PU, my Buds 37 PU and a VA copy by Southern Air (BIG MISTAKE) in my 36 coupe and had no dash clearance problems. The 35,6, and 7 dash dimensions are identical. Looks as though you may have a custom dash. Never the less, you can lower the the unit as stated and build a drop down to reduce the impact. The drop down can be used to install switches, heat and air vents, control heads etc, and keep the dash from becoming cluttered with the same.


Trees

Trees,

Sorry, I was making my Post at the same time you were-you hit the nail right on the head! I have been fretting over the issue of where to put the controls, trying to decide whether to have a "drop down" under the Dash, or to make a console (not only to hide the a/c unit, but for the Vents and Controls)-I couldn't find an early Dash that I thought looked good with a "underdash" so to speak, so I turned to a console, and in a moment of creativity, came up with a design that I think will look fine.

I always thought that an a/c unit should be tucked up as far as possible (and it will), but I think it will work this way-

1957plymouthemi,
Thank you for taking the time to post those-they give me inspiration, and I don't have a problem with the venting (on which you did a great job, btw), it's just a little too thick-

again, thanks to all, I was just looking for someone to give me a different point of view or idea-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:34 AM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,888
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 151 Times in 138 Posts
Moving this to General Rodding Tech.

Dan
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 05:56 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
35, the console would help and could flare out to the door pillar, forming a small drop down. The small(narrow) cockpit area restricts the width of the console unless you are a very small guy. I am a wide body, and if my passenger is sort of the same, we fill the space and a generic console would get squeezed!!!!

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:16 AM
35WINDOW's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: utah
Age: 59
Posts: 1,395
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by trees
35, the console would help and could flare out to the door pillar, forming a small drop down. The small(narrow) cockpit area restricts the width of the console unless you are a very small guy. I am a wide body, and if my passenger is sort of the same, we fill the space and a generic console would get squeezed!!!!

Trees

Thanks, these old cars sure have limited space in them! I have a design in mind, and I have realized that it can't be very big or knee's and elbow's will be a-knockin'-

Thanks to everyone for responding to my unusual questions, I'll get 'er figured out, and your input sure helps!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2012, 12:44 AM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 68
Posts: 3,274
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 84 Times in 75 Posts
Craig....I've got a real good friend at Lake Havasu, AZ who is a dealer for a bunch of hot rod mfg's including Vintage Air. He also installs the systems in everything you could imagine. If you email him some pics I'm sure he could give you some ideas....couldn't hurt.....Dave. GREAT guy!! Greg Bowden (928) 855-7005 www.uniquerods.com P.S. finally got to use my Ariens Platinum 30
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2012, 05:38 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,913
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 205 Times in 186 Posts
I don't know why, but missed this at the beginning.

Here it is mounted behind the '31's dash during the early and tangled part of the wiring:



Everything was connected and checked out, waiting only to be charged It was about 1/3rd visible, but there was a small console with a stereo and the controls in front of it hiding the black box. The worst part of the install was running the big 2-1/2" discharge hoses:



The console and currently not being used:



But then I decided that with a roadster, it would not keep anything but my feet cool, so traded for a heater - figuring warm feet in Nov/Dec was a better option. Worse, the high mounts for the compressor and alternator virtually hid the way set back engine. At least I have an a/c system for the "next" car.

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You need vintage tools for working on vintage cars. :) MARTINSR Hotrodders' Lounge 20 11-16-2011 08:58 AM
Vintage Air Gen II thermostat question for mounting AC unit behind seat of 1933 Ford grobb284 Electrical 4 10-18-2011 02:07 PM
Vintage ************* GenGuy Introduce Yourself 2 06-19-2011 06:26 PM
Vintage Air gen II ogre Hotrodders' Lounge 3 10-25-2010 12:06 PM
? for Vintage Kevin45 Hotrodders' Lounge 1 10-12-2002 04:13 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.