Voltage sensing with 1 wire alt - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:47 AM
bjr bjr is offline
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Voltage sensing with 1 wire alt

I have a one wire self exciting alternator on my Willys Jeep. Can I ad a wire from the #2 terminal on the voltage regulator to my main junction block and get the benefit of voltage sensing without connecting terminal #1 through a diode to the ignition switch? Or will I have to change the regulator to a stock 3 wire regulator for voltage sensing to work at all. I need the voltage sensing feature because I run a snow plow in the winter which draws a lot power. Thanks Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2005, 08:41 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 61
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Voltage sensing

Doc here,

By far and away, the easiest way to monitor voltage is to add an after market Volt meter which may be hooked between source and ground anywhere...

The attempt of trying to run the sense wire through the old regulator will not work simply because you have no field opening and closing the air gap contacts inside the relay to energize the sense circuit..

To attempt it directly should only yield you an "All On " or "All Off " indicator which would not be very helpful in monitoring the output..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:43 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: CA
Age: 27
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had a similiar situation with my one-wire. I ran a 16ga wire over to the junction from one of the terminals (I don't recall which one just try either, one of them works, and the other doesn't change anything from my experimenting). It didn't equate a 3-wire alternator's performance but it made a noticeable change under heavy load, helps boost the voltage. Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2005, 04:54 AM
bjr bjr is offline
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Read and understand the question

Quote:
Originally Posted by docvette
Doc here,

By far and away, the easiest way to monitor voltage is to add an after market Volt meter which may be hooked between source and ground anywhere...

The attempt of trying to run the sense wire through the old regulator will not work simply because you have no field opening and closing the air gap contacts inside the relay to energize the sense circuit..

To attempt it directly should only yield you an "All On " or "All Off " indicator which would not be very helpful in monitoring the output..

Doc
Better re read the question. I don't think you have a clue what voltage sensing is all about. It has nothing to do with reading a volt meter. It's about the regulator in the alternator sensing the need for more output from a point closer to the power use.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:23 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 61
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Sorry

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjr
Better re read the question. I don't think you have a clue what voltage sensing is all about. It has nothing to do with reading a volt meter. It's about the regulator in the alternator sensing the need for more output from a point closer to the power use.
Doc here,

Sorry, mis read and confused the post with another I was answering about a totally different idea...I get distracted easy...shiny objects, long legs..blonde hair...

Go here , for all you need to know about Voltage sensing...BTW on the last page, covers the one wire operation, and their test results...

http://www.madelectrical.com/electri...esensing.shtml

Anyway, my bad, will have to slow up again when Reading the posts...sorry.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:58 AM
bjr bjr is offline
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
still a question

Thanks for the good link lots of great info. My question is still not answered though. Will the self energizing voltage regulator in my one wire alternator, which has 2 spade terminals on it like a 3 wire alternator, work like a 3 wire alternator if hooked up so the #2 (red wire) is connected to the main junction block? Will it remote sense the loads at the main junction like a stock 3 wire alternator which does not have the self energizing feature? I hope this makes sense, it's kind of long winded and hard to explain.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:04 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: CA
Age: 27
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Go back up and read my post. It's not a yes, it's like half a yes. You don't get exactly the performance of a 3-wire, but it'll be better than it is now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2005, 05:46 AM
bjr bjr is offline
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks

Thank you all for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Basic of Basics" Welding - How do I repair body panels? Centerline Body - Exterior 33 03-31-2014 09:45 AM
1986 Cutlass wiring Q's again :( ChrisMiddleron Electrical 12 07-16-2005 04:22 PM
3 Wire Altenator Help. dsmith1279 Electrical 12 12-24-2004 07:42 PM
57 Chevy generator to altenator swap Rodrunner Electrical 2 07-17-2002 09:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.