vortec roller cam help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2008, 04:06 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ks
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
vortec roller cam help

I am building a 96 vortec block with LT4 Hot cam. I put the timing gear on and it is extremely close to bolt holding cam retainer in, about 030 distance from each other. Is this normal or do I have wrong timing set?

fj
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0226.JPG
Views:	79
Size:	192.0 KB
ID:	28937  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2008, 04:18 PM
GMC boogie's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Louisiana
Age: 49
Posts: 637
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
As long as you have clearance,your good to go. I would check and make sure the chain is not rubbing the center oil galley. This is common on late model blocks and double roller sets.

Slight grinding/clearancing at the top of the center oil galley is usually needed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2008, 04:52 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 60 Times in 57 Posts
Just as GMC Boogie pointed out. double roller sets commonly make contact on vortec blocks, this is why Cloyes sells the Vortec street roller timing set. I already seen what a double will do on a Vortec block and seen it ruin a engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2008, 12:04 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ks
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK I bought the cloyes street roller for vortec. Now I can't get crank gear to go on all the way. Any hints?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFR or Vortec heads? Cam? rodent Engine 18 06-08-2010 04:50 PM
roller cam retro fit DARIN ALLMAN Engine 14 12-17-2007 05:29 PM
Anything special to put roller cam in 400 block? sb72elcamino350 Engine 1 04-10-2004 12:12 AM
383-- use the vortec heads? what cam? slonova Engine 10 02-02-2004 12:45 PM
Roller Cam Help!!! Vsanthos Engine 13 10-31-2002 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.