Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Want more power out of 427

7K views 14 replies 10 participants last post by  kwillymac 
#1 ·
Hey everybody I have a few questions in hoping you can help me with. A friend of mine currently has 427 bbc that ran 520hp on the dyno. Now after a few years he wants more power closer to 650hp. No nitrous. He is on a very strict budget. Now the motor has forged crank and forged domed pistons. Now I thought in my mind he could disassemble the motor have the pistons milled down to be flat tops giving it around 8.5:1. Put a weiand 177 blower ontop. Possible upgrade to a hydraulic roller.

Would this work? If not could I get input on what you guys would recommend? This is strictly a street motor in a 71 gmc half ton.

Thanks a bunch

#12 ·
I agree. I'm no engineer, but from what I've been able to put together over the years, good engineering practice dictates that the crown thickness will equal about 7% of the diameter for a naturally-aspirated piston. The crowns on dedicated blower pistons will be thicker than those on naturally-aspirated pistons, so you would want to be adding material, not cutting material away. I don't know what the percentage of crown thickness to diameter would be with a dedicated blower piston, but common sense tells me 8% to 9%.

#6 ·
He has the 781 oval port heads. They have been ported with 2.19/1.88 valves.

I can't see it being very expensive to do that's all. Because all he needs is to lower the compression change cam and stick the little weaind 177 on there? Or am I missing something?

Is there a way to tell if the done is hollow or not??

#9 ·
^^^^^X2