Want to put a turbo on a 305 chevy - Page 5 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 04:05 PM
Project89's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: utah
Posts: 1,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinn View Post
Im not having ring gap issues. That I know of anyways. We cut the base of the exhaust manifold and weld the T flange on. The stock cast manifolds work awesome, and welds hold fine ( been over 18 months).

How much boost are running, that might be the problem.
it depends on how much boost u run , at only a few psi stock ring gaps are perfectly fine , unless u dont have an intercooler then they could be come a problem

even if the plan is only to run a few psi i still like to open the ring gaps , because as most of us know boost is adictive and theres always the urge/itch to turn the boost up , opening the ring gap up when u first start lets u turn up the boost in the future if u so desire

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 04:07 PM
Project89's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: utah
Posts: 1,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
this is what happens when u get the urge to up the boost with a stock ring gap


that happened at a measly 12 psi

it broke the top ring the ring land and finally the second ring
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 04:12 PM
spinn's Avatar
Reviewing the situation
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,555
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 88 Times in 85 Posts
I ve used the 8 pound spring before, but leave the 6 in. I have used the 9 psi pulley on the blowers. I set the stuff I build to work at 4-6 , real nice smooth performance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2013, 04:14 PM
Project89's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: utah
Posts: 1,006
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 12
Thanked 37 Times in 34 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinn View Post
I ve used the 8 pound spring before, but leave the 6 in. I have used the 9 psi pulley on the blowers. I set the stuff I build to work at 4-6 , real nice smooth performance.
yeah thats considered very mild boost when it comes to a turbo at those levels i would trust stock gaps as long as the tune is in check
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I put a turbo 350 in place of 700r4? eric32 Transmission - Rearend 7 08-23-2008 02:51 AM
chevy 305 stock,ported polished, Holset H1E turbo. 74chevyflat Engine 19 06-02-2008 05:03 PM
how to put a turbo on a sb 400 mrbull30 Engine 10 04-20-2007 05:11 PM
Can you put a 350 transmission on a 305. CCR Transmission - Rearend 7 04-28-2005 04:41 PM
What are the best heads to put on a 305? CCR Engine 6 11-06-2004 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.