Water-Borne Paints! Coming to a Body Shop near You! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2009, 08:45 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Water-Borne Paints! Coming to a Body Shop near You!

Hey Everyone,

Currently I'm an Auto Collision Technology student and just learning about how to paint cars. Recently my teacher told me the paint supplier he works with in 3 years or less will switch entirely over to Water-Borne paints in Maryland. Probably in 5 years they won't even sell anything else.

My teacher seemed annoyed that they are switching and he needs to learn new techniques. Although he accepts the change is coming!

I haven't gotten a chance to use them myself, but I personally hear they are great to work with. If you mess up... just get a wet cloth and wipe away the paint! Also considering that they are much lower in VOC and Isocynates, they are obviously better for a techs health.

I'm wondering what people on this forum think? How do you older guys feel about switching over to new stuff?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-14-2009, 10:31 AM

Last photo:

what defines older?.....

i welcome it, especially for the hobbyist. i think it will be safer for the do it yourselfer that jumps out there and sprays without the proper gear. (yes, i have done it too)

i would like to see how well the paint holds up over time, and against the elements.
Old 12-14-2009, 11:40 AM

Last photo:

I don't know what the current status is but I was under the understanding that even with WB paints, you still used Iso type clears, which has all the health hazards. I didn't think WB clears were mainstream on the market yet.