Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Water Problem with Air Compressor

43K views 45 replies 10 participants last post by  71gtx 
#1 ·
Hello guys, I am pretty new to painting cars. I am working on a project spraying with a gravity feed gun. I have a craftsman vertical 33gallon air compressor. I purchased a craftsman water trap/filter and mounted it stratight off of the compressor before attempting spraying. I used a hose that has the hard plastic outer shell. Well, I got water bubbles heavily in the area I tested.

I then took a DA and ran it and noticed that water was coming out heavily, but no water is collecting in the water trap. i was told i need a rubber flex hose rather than the one i have, but why isn't water trapping in the first place? any tips on how to set this up to eliminate all water?

I was also told to mount the water trap higher than the compressor to help?

#2 ·
The reason its not catching the water is cuz when it passes through the filter right at the compressor, it hasnt FORMED water yet. The airs still hot and doesnt form condensation til it starts cooling off, further down the line. As a rule of thumb, the further from a compressor you put a filter, the better it will be utilized.

#3 ·
air compressor water

hi,i have a 60 gal vertical compressor.heres what i did to solve the water problem. at the fitting where the air hose would connect,i took 1/2 in galvanized pipe (hardware store,hd or lowes) and made a long U shape 1 piece of pipe 2ft long,,vertical,90 degree fitting, water hose bibb,6in long horizonontal(bottom of U shape,) vertical piece of pipe 20 in long air hose fitting on end. in use i start compressor,let it fill up,open water bibb till water drains out close bibb,and spray. every 10 minutes or so,i drain water again. i also use a toilet paper water filter in air line just before regulator.(close to gun)

#4 ·