Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Water Problem with Air Compressor

43K views 45 replies 10 participants last post by  71gtx 
#1 ·
Hello guys, I am pretty new to painting cars. I am working on a project spraying with a gravity feed gun. I have a craftsman vertical 33gallon air compressor. I purchased a craftsman water trap/filter and mounted it stratight off of the compressor before attempting spraying. I used a hose that has the hard plastic outer shell. Well, I got water bubbles heavily in the area I tested.

I then took a DA and ran it and noticed that water was coming out heavily, but no water is collecting in the water trap. i was told i need a rubber flex hose rather than the one i have, but why isn't water trapping in the first place? any tips on how to set this up to eliminate all water?

I was also told to mount the water trap higher than the compressor to help?

#27 ·
The reason I don't think that it is too heavy of a coat is this: The first light pass I had showed the "fish eyes" and adding more paint never improved them. As far as contamination this is what I did:

I wet sanded a previous water problem, cleaned with soap and water, cleaned heavily with metal prep, and finally went over the surface with a tack cloth.

Could too much hardener cause this? And would fish eye killer actually solve this problem. But if fish eye kiiller would solve it, what am I doing wrong in the first place?

#29 ·
71gtx said:
The reason I don't think that it is too heavy of a coat is this: The first light pass I had showed the "fish eyes" and adding more paint never improved them. As far as contamination this is what I did:

I wet sanded a previous water problem, cleaned with soap and water, cleaned heavily with metal prep, and finally went over the surface with a tack cloth.

Could too much hardener cause this? And would fish eye killer actually solve this problem. But if fish eye kiiller would solve it, what am I doing wrong in the first place?