Hot Rod Forum banner

Wax&Grease Remover on Fiberglass

11K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  mrcleanr6 
#1 ·
Hey Guys!

I'm a paint and body newbie, but I'm getting ready to start prepping my '69 Super Bee's fiberglass hood for paint.

I picked up some wax & grease remover (proform) today to use to wipe the hood down beofe and after I sand it. The top of th hood is gel coated.

Anyway, the wax & grease remover says on the container... "THIS PRODUCT IS NOT RECOMMENDED FOR USE ON PLASTIC OR FIBREGLASS".. I notice this after I buy it of course! ;)

Now, is this warning against using it on bare fiberglass? Is it safe to use these types of products on gel coat?

If I can't use the cleaner, how do I clean the hood before and after sanding?

Thanks guys! :thumbup:

#5 ·
Hey Guys!

Thanks for the tips!

So:

1. wash with detergent and water
2. wash with wax & grease remover
3. Sand surface.
4. wash with detergent and water
5. Paint.

Should I wash it w/ the wax & grease remover after step 4, or before step 4, or not at all after sanding?

At least it's going to be a while before I can paint the hood here... its still hovering around the freezing point. :( Gives me time to ask questions though! :)

Thanks again guys!

#6 ·
The warning from the manufacture should not be taken lightly however. The reason for the warning is some absorbtion of the surface cleaner can occur. If it is a real slow evaporating cleaner like the PPG DX330 (very slow) it can stay trapped in the glass VERY easy. After wiping dry very well, let all cleaner flash off well before you seal it with primer, paint or what ever.

Brian

#7 ·
Here's my way of new f'glass prep

1. hot soapy water and a scrub brush, rinse real well

2. wipe down with DX105 or denatured alcohol on gel coated areas only

3. allow lots of dry time so alcohol can help move water out of pores

4. sand and repair as needed (yes, they all need somethin!)

5. wash with milder version of hot soapy water and let dry