Welder Ye or Ne - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2005, 01:47 PM
Classic Mustang Maniac

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Welder Ye or Ne

Guys I am just getting started on my car.
I need a decent welder to install new floor pans and other small repairs, no major welding.

I was wanted to get anyones thoughts about a small welder like this one on ebay.

Link ==>
http://cgi.ebay.com/CRAFTSMAN-WIRE-F...QQcmdZViewItem

Thanks for you info
Mustang_Tom

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-08-2005, 02:09 PM

Last photo:

Mustang, I strongly suggest avoiding the gas-less wire welders because they have some VERY undesirable characteristics especially for auto body work. If you are on a tight budget and only plan to use this welder occasionally after doing your project then one of the cheaper MIG welders from Harbor Freight may be ok. If you can afford to spend more($450-$600) then by all means pass up the cheapo machines and get a Lincoln, Hobart or Miller(220 volt is a lot better than 110) because these things are miles ahead of the "bargain" brands and will last a long time with parts and consumables being easy to find. If you only intend to do hobby type body work and little else then a cheap 110 machine will work but not for much more than body panels. I have a Friend that has a Harbor Freight MIG that he bought about a year ago for $199.99 that works darn good for the price and is holding up well so far so it really depends on the intended use. Tell us more about your project and what you intend to do with your welder.

I always like to hear from another Mustang owner
Old 12-08-2005, 04:22 PM

Last photo:

welder