welding gas question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2006, 07:41 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

welding gas question

I am a relative new welder. I bought some 75/25 gas this week. I was wandering what pressure I should set the gas on. Does it matter what I am welding as to what it needs to be set on. Right now just sheetmetal. Please help.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2006, 08:03 PM
No substitute for cubic inches

Last journal entry: Tha 31
Last photo:

I usually set my gas at 15 - 20 depending on where I'm at welding. If there's any chance of the wind blowing I'll turn it up more.
Old 10-04-2006, 08:26 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,128 Times in 1,001 Posts
First you have to check on what your regulator reads, is it CFH (Cubic Feet per Hour)or is it PSI (Pounds per Square Inch).

This is right out of the American Welding Society guide.

25-30 CFH or 3-4 PSI. I have never seen a PSI guage on a MIG but I guess they must exist or they wouldn't tell us.

Brian
Old 10-04-2006, 08:43 PM

Last journal entry: Suggestions worth sharing
Last photo:

To answer your other question, the flow rate of your gas does not typically need to be adjusted up or down with your metal thickness. The real requirement is that you're just just fully blanketing the arc and molten weld. Big block's comment about breeze is right- a little extra air movement may require you to increase your gas flow. If you start seeing some ugly welds, increasing you gas flow would be the first thing to look into.
Old 10-05-2006, 07:12 AM

Last photo: