welding test question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2009, 06:30 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

welding test question

guys i am new to this forrum, and if you don't mind i need some questions answered.

I am a electrician. I also went to school for welding about 2 years ago. My company want me to take a welding test tomorrow. From what i understand it will be one of the easier ones a plate test with a but weld, verically and overhead. There will be no gap so i don't have to lay the root with 6010. Instead the bevels will be butted up together and i will run a 7018 rod. My question is can i just run vertical stringers??? I usally weave the vertical passes. But since there is no gap and i have not welded in so long i would be more comfortable with straight stringers. Will they run ok if i just stay with my puddle like usual?? but how close should my rod be???? I guess i don't want it to break through. Should i just hold it as close as i can to the surface? I will be buffing with a wire wheel after each rod. I also plan on grinding the back flat (if they let me) and laying one more stringer on the other side. I think after my first pass i will lay 2 more on top the one for my filler and 3 on top the 2 for my cap. Does this sound correct??? I will do the same for overhead.

I hope some of you can help. I am kinda nervous. Thanx in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-10-2009, 06:42 PM

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:

They should tell you what they want. Is it a stress test or xray?
Stringers are easier to get a uniform a weld if you don't weld every day. Defiantly want to run stringers for the over head