Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Transmission - Rearend (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/transmission-rearend/)
-   -   What is applied when a 4L60 is in reverse (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/what-applied-when-4l60-reverse-116192.html)

Billvill 05-16-2007 12:44 PM

What is applied when a 4L60 is in reverse

Just like it says above I am looking to find out what components are applied in reverse. My 4L60 developed a delay and now a shutter in reverse.

I may decide to build it before I destroy it.

briscoe 05-16-2007 01:16 PM

what is applied

The low reverse clutchs and the reverse input drum [ the drum the band applies on ].

And I think your decision to build it, rather than to destroy it, is a good decision. :D

Billvill 05-22-2007 08:51 AM

I haven't built a box in 25 years. ( I was a Mopar line mechanic at a dealership years ago ) I see there are a ton of parts out there for the 4L60. I have a deep pan and a cooler. I was thinking about the corvette servo. The 9 plate 3/4 pack and the line pressure increase orifice. Last but not least the S10 converter which should give me just a little more stall speed.

Its not a race car but it does have a very healthy 350 in it. I do tow a small trailer with it. maybe 2000 lbs tops. I do like to do a burn out with it once a year at our van club truck in.

Is there anything else I should beef up for a solid rebuild. Should I go for the wide bands and drums along with the good spraug. Where do you draw the line ?

One thing that strikes me odd is that low gear aka manual 1 is solid as a rock. Could the one way clutch be an issue. I wasn't leaning that way because a very slight delay started about 2 months ago. I have to assume it is a hydraulic issue.

Thanks billy

briscoe 05-22-2007 09:18 AM

what is applied

Billy what year is this transmission? Lots of things to suggest.

tnsmith10 05-26-2007 06:06 AM