What does welding in two passes mean, precisely? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2010, 06:49 PM
something droll and pithy

Wiki Edits: 0

What does welding in two passes mean, precisely?

The garage that I am working in does not have 220v, so I am working with a Lincoln 140 MIG welder (110v). It says it will weld 1/4" and 5/16" steel in two passes. Precisely what does that mean? As you can tell from the question, I'm a hobby welder with no formal training but a good bit of practice.

Let's say I'm welding a bracket onto my frame. The whole idea is to get penetration all the way through. If the bracket design does not permit me to weld both sides of it to the frame, I have to get penetration with the single bead. But the first pass fills the valley between the pieces. How is a second pass going to help? I now have a thick weld bead to get through, and if the first pass that directly contacted both pieces of steel didn't penetrate deep enough, how is laying a second bead on top of the existing bead going to do it? Does a second pass mean to create short beads and go back over them immediately while they are still hot? I haven't tried that, but I can see how that might do it.

If I pre-heat the steel with MAPP gas, will that obviate the need for two passes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-11-2010, 07:12 PM

Last photo:

It usually applies to thickness of material your trying to weld. If the material is thin, you may get by with one pass. If the material is heavy or thick, then two passes is required. It basically means your going over the first weld and adding more metal filler with the welder, giving it a stronger weld.