What to finish with? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2004, 09:22 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

What to finish with?

Been browsing around here for the past few hours - tons of great information!! Thanks to all who contribute. Ok, now here's my question: I'm new to body work and everything that goes along with it. I can fix a motor, but don't really know the first thing about the exterior. My bike is in dire need of some fresh skin. From searching the internet and reading through this site, I think I've got a grasp on priming & sanding and color sanding. Now here's where I think I'm confused (or maybe I've got some information overload???); upon completion of color sanding do we hit it with rubbing compound and then polishing compound? If we go that route, is there still a 30-60 day waiting period for appying a good quality wax? When it comes to wax, what's the differences between Carnuba Wax and something like Maguires Gold. Now let's say once the color sanding is done, would I be better off to apply a clear coat? If so, what guidelines should I adhere to when applying clear coat? Are there any additional steps to do before applying clear coat?

I apologize if these questions are repetative of what's been posted and let me say "thanks" in advance for your patience with me as I learn. I'm stationed in Okinawa Japan, so I don't have the luxury of going to shops out in town for instruction that I can understand. The people over here are wonderful people and would be more than willing to teach me, but the languge barrier makes it difficult until I become more fluent in Japanese.

Merry Christmas,
Mike

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement