what ga.wire - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: hawthorne, n.j.
Age: 62
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what ga.wire

My heater motor has 14ga wire. Should I wire the switch and resistor with
14ga also , or could I use 16ga. Thanks, Joe

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:53 PM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 70
Posts: 7,429
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 58
Thanked 162 Times in 151 Posts
It is probably 14 gauge for a reason so that is what I would use..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2009, 06:39 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,931
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 214 Times in 193 Posts
If you have 14 ga wire, why would you want to go to an even smaller ga wire like 16? If anything, you would go to a 12ga - a fusible link is sized 4 number sizes smaller then the wire size - i.e., for 14ga, you would use an 18ga link.

http://www.madelectrical.com/catalog/fusible-link.shtml

I prefer fuses though!!

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2009, 07:30 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 817
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 39
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
I agree.. go bigger (smaller number) if anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2009, 08:12 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 602
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 84
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddyfofoad
My heater motor has 14ga wire. Should I wire the switch and resistor with
14ga also , or could I use 16ga. Thanks, Joe
It all depends on how many amps the blower motor draws and how long the wire is. When I wire a car, I size the wires based on a maximum voltage drop of 5%. With that, and about a ten foot wire run, a 16 gauge wire can carry about 12 amps without a problem, where a 14 gauge wire can carry 20 amps.

Without doing a bunch of math, the simple answer is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by OneMoreTime
It is probably 14 gauge for a reason so that is what I would use.
I can't argue with that logic.

Joe G.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 817
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 39
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
it also depends on how the wire is run... a wire hanging out in freespace by itself can handle more current safely because it can 'cool' better.

if it's bundled in a harness, it cant' get rid of the heat, and therefore can't carry as much current.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2009, 05:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: hawthorne, n.j.
Age: 62
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what ga wire

Thanks for the input. The length of the wires to the motor is approx 7 ft. I have plenty of unused 16ga wire from my Ron Francis kit, but no 14ga lengths that are long enough without splicing. I knew what the answer was going to be. Thanks, Joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2009, 06:52 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,931
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 214 Times in 193 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiddyfofoad
Thanks for the input. The length of the wires to the motor is approx 7 ft. I have plenty of unused 16ga wire from my Ron Francis kit, but no 14ga lengths that are long enough without splicing. I knew what the answer was going to be. Thanks, Joe
A trip to NAPA and ~$7.00 later takes care of your problem with a 15-20 foot length and if you're lucky, they have the right color in stock!!
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2009, 08:26 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Just make sure you get quality wire, some of the wire available at Auto Zombie and the others is pure garbage IMHO. If it says "made in China" I would avoid it.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
Just make sure you get quality wire, some of the wire available at Auto Zombie and the others is pure garbage IMHO. If it says "made in China" I would avoid it.

Vince

Actually a good place to get wire and connectors is Wal-Mart of all places! You can find genuine 3M connectors and quality American made wire, plus they are one of the few places in this area that still has Scotch (3M) 33+ electrical tape.


Most people will balk at paying about $4.00 for a roll of tape when there is tape right beside it for 50 cents a roll but it is well worth the difference in price and a heck of a lot more! That cheap junk would not be worth taking out of the store if was free but so many people buy it instead of the real tape that 3M is getting hard to find now (around here anyway) unless you go to an electrical supply.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2009, 09:55 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,931
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 214 Times in 193 Posts
And to add to OR's post, the 3M is also rated by temp - so for a few cents more, get the better range

NAPA wire still (as of a couple of months ago) was made in the USA and is part of the FelPro brands
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2009, 05:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: hawthorne, n.j.
Age: 62
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what ga wire

Thanks again for all of the info. This economy is bringing the cheapness out in me. Joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 05:06 PM
40forddgc's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 217
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wire guage

the larger wire the better.
regards.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.