Hot Rod Forum banner

what is hot rodding to you? another newbie, with a unique project

24K views 77 replies 32 participants last post by  67Mustang Al. 
#1 ·
hello! another new guy, and i can't wait to learn here. i'm an absolute noob to the rodding scene, and i've been crash coursing hot rods and american muscle cars for the past 3 months to try and see if this idea i have is feasible. i'm starting to lose hope simply due to lack of constructive input (and people trying to rob me on fab estimates). i'd like to ask this forum for help, but i'm afraid of more of the usual responses. so before i even try, i would like to ask what this forum's stance is on non-american hot rodding? what IS hot rodding to you?

i personally feel what i'm attempting is hot rodding at its heart and soul, but so far i've just been stonewalled with doubt and jest. i mean, isn't it all about shoving a big motor into a car that wasn't supposed to ever get it? the more difficult, outlandish, and insane, the better? fat motor, small car, low to the ground, mean growl? i used to think that's what it was way before i ever even looked into the scene, but exposure to it's given me a much different answer. please tell me i'm wrong and i've come to the right place. because walking the same road as everyone else alone is no fun :(

#2 ·
ferk it, i'm just gonna say it. i'm trying to stuff a c5/6 corvette drivetrain into a honda del sol, and source a cheap junkyard ls1 or l33 for the engine. more than enough power, and the transaxle should help even out the weight distribution. i plan to do this with entirely junkyard parts, with a budget of 20-30k. i don't believe it should cost more than that if i'm smart with my purchases and hand the welder a baseline design for the ladder frame and modified roll cage as i'd like it. i'm also giving myself the entire year to both plan and save, and will not make a single purchase or cut until i'm certain this will work with minimal problems.