What is involved in Changing Camshafts? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2005, 01:48 PM
Wookie

Wiki Edits: 0

What is involved in Changing Camshafts?

Hey Guys, I have been puttering around on engines for 30 years, but have never rebuilt one or done an intake change, or Cam swap.
what is involved in changing a cam, what all has to come off IE rad,water pump, damper etc..
I will be changing the Intake (Performer RPM) and Putting a Comp 260H, lifters, and Timing Set . and Topping it with a 575 Speed Demon.
when I do it , it will have to be done in just 1 or 2 days and it has to be right.
BTW its a 305 77 Impalla

Advertisement

77 Impala
74 260Z (a Work in SLOW Progress)
69 Big Block Chevelle (long gone)
Semper Fi My Brothers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-25-2005, 03:01 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last photo:

Well you need the intake off, water pump off, timing cover off, and about 2.5-3 feet of clear space in front of the timing cover to take the old cam out and insert the new one.

Its pretty straight forward. This is how I usually do it. First I set the engine at TDC on the #1 stroke.

Take the intake off. Valve covers off. Loosen the rocker arms. Pull the pushrods and lifters.