What is involved in rebuilding rods? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2011, 11:15 PM
Silver Surfer's Avatar
More machine than man
 

Last journal entry: bwaahhaahahaaahhaa
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 37
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 92
Thanked 60 Times in 50 Posts
What is involved in rebuilding rods?

The title says it all, how do you rebuild them? What is involved here?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2011, 11:55 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: near Yellowstone park
Posts: 4,353
Wiki Edits: 27

Thanks: 12
Thanked 257 Times in 241 Posts
connecting rods?

connecting rod bottom ends can stretch and distort at high loads and rpm's. If there is too much crankshaft end play the surface can be rounded instead of flat in that direction. the rebuild process is to machine the flat connecting surface, then bolt the pieces together and torque. that then makes the hole a modified oval, then machine the hole round to the correct size. the piston end on some rods have a bushing that can be replaced then machined to size, , also the rod can be twisted, and requires straightening, this machine work can shorten the center to center length which cannot be corrected. removing material can effect balance so that is the next step in a performance engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2011, 06:33 AM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,136
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 25
Thanked 272 Times in 254 Posts
All the above. Plus I magnaflux and shot peen them. No use rebuilding a cracked rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2011, 08:06 AM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Age: 45
Posts: 2,420
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
ive found, that often by the time you pay to have all that done, unless you have some really special con. rods, its not much more to just go buy new ones
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2011, 04:42 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,530
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by matts37chev
ive found, that often by the time you pay to have all that done, unless you have some really special con. rods, its not much more to just go buy new ones

what he said

do you mean "re-sizing" them for say, ARP bolts?. i have discovered that rather than using arp bolt$ and paying more big bucks to re-size the rods (required), that it is waaaaaay better to just buy new stock rod bolts, and use them, then you dont have to resize the rods. you would be , i think, better off buying cheap new rods than going the arp route, right BobCRman?????? hey dude!!!

Last edited by bullheimer; 01-17-2011 at 04:48 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2011, 04:59 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,136
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 25
Thanked 272 Times in 254 Posts
Sorry, but ANYTIME you disturb rod bolts, such as installing new stock ones or aftermkt. You are pressing a different shape into the bolt hole. Re-sizing is required. Most used rods are going to be out of round anyways..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2011, 03:13 PM
Silver Surfer's Avatar
More machine than man
 

Last journal entry: bwaahhaahahaaahhaa
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 37
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 92
Thanked 60 Times in 50 Posts
So if they machine metal off the rod to restore a flat surface and make the lower rod journal round...doesn't that make an already used rod even weaker?

Good point about throwing the engine balance off...sounds like buying new rods is the way to go!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2011, 03:16 PM
Silver Surfer's Avatar
More machine than man
 

Last journal entry: bwaahhaahahaaahhaa
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 37
Posts: 806
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 92
Thanked 60 Times in 50 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullheimer
what he said
do you mean "re-sizing" them for say, ARP bolts?
Wow I had no idea you had to resize for ARP's!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:05 AM
1971BB427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Latest changes
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 1,752
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 286 Times in 249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver Surfer
So if they machine metal off the rod to restore a flat surface and make the lower rod journal round...doesn't that make an already used rod even weaker?

Good point about throwing the engine balance off...sounds like buying new rods is the way to go!
There are tolerances that need to be held. They don't take enough off a rod when they resize it to weaken it. If it needs more than a set amount they just toss them. Having rods checked and resized is pretty minimal cost compared to new rods. The shop that did the machine work on my 427 charged me $8 per rod to check and resize them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:17 AM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Age: 45
Posts: 2,420
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1971BB427
There are tolerances that need to be held. They don't take enough off a rod when they resize it to weaken it. If it needs more than a set amount they just toss them. Having rods checked and resized is pretty minimal cost compared to new rods. The shop that did the machine work on my 427 charged me $8 per rod to check and resize them.
pressed pin?
because my math includes hanging pistons.
so if you buy new rods, you can get floating pin and assemble them yourself

i would rather spend my money on new upgraded parts, then pay someone else to do a bunch of labor on older stressed out stuff (but this only applies to, original low perf., parts)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2011, 07:42 PM
1971BB427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Latest changes
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland
Posts: 1,752
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 286 Times in 249 Posts
Yes, my 427 has pressed pins. I guess they're good enough for me, as it dynos at around 465hp, and it's been 10 yrs. of fun since I rebuilt it. I suppose it may go any day now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2011, 11:52 AM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,530
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOBCRMAN@aol.com
Sorry, but ANYTIME you disturb rod bolts, such as installing new stock ones or aftermkt. You are pressing a different shape into the bolt hole. Re-sizing is required. Most used rods are going to be out of round anyways..

not like i need to verify anything you have to say bob, but my machinist said the same thing as you. in jim hands book he said you wouldnt have to. but regardless, you need to check them and most of the time, as i understand it now, you will have to resize them anyway, even with a stock bolt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SBC 4" stroke. What's involved? curtis73 Engine 6 03-25-2008 10:50 AM
Read this:Your safety is involved home brew Hotrodders' Lounge 16 09-21-2006 02:07 PM
Longtime car enthusiast getting more involved. signbuilder Introduce Yourself 2 01-13-2006 08:01 PM
Rearend, whats involved in the swap? 40chevy Transmission - Rearend 6 11-16-2005 06:01 PM
What is involved in Changing Camshafts? rick458 Engine 12 01-27-2005 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.