What kind of compressor? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2006, 10:19 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

What kind of compressor?

It looks like I will have to bite the bullet and get an air compressor. I don't do a lot of painting and I don't have any air tools, but I can't find a way to shoot 2k epoxy primer without a compressor. I browsed Habor Freight and found a bunch of compressors that might work, but being a total rookie I have no idea what I need. Can anybody tell me how many PSI and what size tank would I need to do some light painting (primer spots mostly)

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-17-2006, 10:39 AM
Experienced Amateur

Last wiki edit: Automobile body and frame rotisserie
Wiki Edits: 2

PSI and tank size are irrelevant. What you go by is how many CFM it can produce. The minimum you need for most things will be around 12-15 CFM @ 90 PSI, but the more the merrier. So buy as much of a system as you can afford. The one I use I bought at HF on sale for like $320 but was regularly $500 and it puts out about 13 CFM. However, I also have one of my old compressors tied into the system also, in case it cant keep up. But if youre only doing real light stuff, you might could get by with less. The problem with marginal compressors is they hafta run non-stop to keep up, thereby creating heat, which will cause moisture problems. With compressors, the "Bigger is Better" rule usually applies
Old 09-17-2006, 05:36 PM

Last photo: