what kind of timing chain i should get?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2011, 05:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what kind of timing chain i should get??

got a stock 305 87-92 style block, could i get a double roller timming chain from auto zone and be ok??

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2011, 05:51 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
It depends on if the block is a roller cam or flat tappet. If it`s flat tappet it`ll be a bolt on. If it`s a roller cam it`ll be somewhat different.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2011, 08:29 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pretter sure its roller cam
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2011, 09:11 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,652
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 58 Times in 55 Posts
This is about the cheapest one I found on a quick look.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/EDL-7801/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2011, 10:05 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so a double roller will work with what i got? does it matter what intake and carb i will be running?? i want to upgrade to a edflebrock performanse intake with a edelbrock 600 carb
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 05:48 AM
TroyBoy's Avatar
Psychomotors
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Bonne Terre ,Missouri
Age: 48
Posts: 675
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
You will be fine with a double . The timing chain connects the crank to the cam-it doesnt care about the intake and carb,lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 09:25 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
o ok lol thanks i know it matter some times what other parts are on the motor ,im still new to this sorr if i sound stupid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 04:37 PM
TroyBoy's Avatar
Psychomotors
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Bonne Terre ,Missouri
Age: 48
Posts: 675
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
No worries Hank. The only stupid question is the one unasked,lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 05:41 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks off subject though,i replaced my oil pump,thermastat,water pump,valve cover gaskets,plug/wires,cap/rotor, everything stock,would it be ok it i upgraded my intake to a edelbrock performance hi rise and a edelbrock 600 carb?????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 05:48 PM
cool rockin daddy's Avatar
1.21 giga-watts???!!!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wherever cool cars are
Posts: 1,535
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Go for it! That is usually the first bolt on modification people do, a performance intake and carb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 06:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cool so if i did go with this combo i wouldnt have to do anything else to the motor inside wise?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 06:03 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
it wouldnt be to much or overboard for a 305??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2011, 09:19 PM
cool rockin daddy's Avatar
1.21 giga-watts???!!!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wherever cool cars are
Posts: 1,535
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
What you want to do is called a "bolt on" modification. It means you are just bolting parts onto the engine, not into the engine. Just do it. Make sure you understand thoroughly how to tune and adjust whatever carb you get. They need to be adjusted to what your engine wants.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2011, 10:32 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
k thats what im going to do,but would the hi rise performer be a good choice??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2011, 09:58 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: COLUMBUS GEORGIA
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleVision
This is about the cheapest one I found on a quick look.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/EDL-7801/
so i should buy this 1 right??? i will be buying 1 within this week so i dont have to look for another brand or style? just this and the gasket set right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with timing chain super_silent Engine 8 06-27-2008 02:32 AM
Timing chain "70" Cougar Engine 18 02-17-2008 02:25 AM
Help with timing Chain and timing cam install LXZ590 Engine 7 12-08-2006 10:01 PM
trying to setting the timing on the timing chain and gears on a 74 ply with a 318 ReggieN Engine 1 10-05-2004 07:54 AM
Timing gears vs double roller chain timing chain Jag Daddy Engine 12 05-24-2003 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.