What makes paint bubble up? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2009, 07:02 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

What makes paint bubble up?

I'm a beginner so please bear with me. I'm wondering what makes paint bubble/wrinkle. While prepping my truck, I was told to remove all traces of the rattle can primer that the previous owner had applied or risk the new paint going over it. When I was a kid, I remember spraying lacquer over enamel rattle can with horrible results (I think that was what I did).

Anyway, I can understand about chemical incompatibilities, etc. but when I discovered that most base coats are not mixed with an activator, this got me wondering why it does not bubble when you spray clear over it. I recall reading somewhere that lacquer is just pigment dissolved in solvent and that you could, in theory, scrape off dried lacquer, add thinner, and respray it. Is base coat similar? Can someone explain how or why paint might bubble up?

The reason for the question is sometimes one might want to just spray some rattle can paint on a spot repair to prevent rust, a quick and easy way to do it. But, to have to remove all traces of it later can just be a major pain.

Thanks, Scot

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-14-2009, 07:15 PM

Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 31

rattle can primer will absorb moisture and cause rust you can't see.. best to just leave it alone
Old 05-14-2009, 07:49 PM

Last photo: