what max psi do you set your compressor? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 10:32 AM
pigjamelectric's Avatar
oldsmobile compatible
 
Last wiki edit: Selling your car Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manitoba
Age: 43
Posts: 167
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what max psi do you set your compressor?

I just blew my second regulator. I don't know if it was because they were cheap or my compressor setting is too high.

How high is high enough? It's a two stage CH with an 80 gallon tank. I use it to run auto body air tools so I need a steady supply.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 11:02 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,282
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 45
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
I set mine as high as it will go and if you are blowing regulators then you need a better one..the ones from HF are not all that good..

I get mine from Motor Guard as those guys know their stuff and their regulator and water trap will be one of my shop air upgrades..I use a regulator then a water trap and then the M-30 toilet roll filter and set my pressure at 100 psi at the wall.

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 12:59 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pigjamelectric
I just blew my second regulator. I don't know if it was because they were cheap or my compressor setting is too high.

How high is high enough? It's a two stage CH with an 80 gallon tank. I use it to run auto body air tools so I need a steady supply.
When you say "regulator", are you talking about the pressure switch that handles the line voltage to the motor and switches the motor when required? Or a device that regulates the pressure downline from the compressor?

I've used Square-D pressure switches in the past, w/o problem. They are bought in "ranges" of the Off and On settings, w/some that are adjustable within those ranges. If they are selected correctly, they shouldn't be "blowing", IMO.

If you are blowing the pressure regulator that actually regulates the pressure from a high psi to a lower psi, they shouldn't be "blowing", either- as long as they are of a decent quality and sized according to the application.

I would be curious to know exactly what is happening, and what part it's happening to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 01:46 PM
pigjamelectric's Avatar
oldsmobile compatible
 
Last wiki edit: Selling your car Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Manitoba
Age: 43
Posts: 167
Wiki Edits: 29

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327
When you say "regulator", are you talking about the pressure switch that handles the line voltage to the motor and switches the motor when required? Or a device that regulates the pressure downline from the compressor?

I've used Square-D pressure switches in the past, w/o problem. They are bought in "ranges" of the Off and On settings, w/some that are adjustable within those ranges. If they are selected correctly, they shouldn't be "blowing", IMO.

If you are blowing the pressure regulator that actually regulates the pressure from a high psi to a lower psi, they shouldn't be "blowing", either- as long as they are of a decent quality and sized according to the application.

I would be curious to know exactly what is happening, and what part it's happening to.
It's the in line air pressure regulator. I just got back from the store about an hour ago. I had my receipt for the one I bought in 2001 but not for the other I bought around 2005. Customer service said the 2001 was past warranty but they would let me have two more at half price each. That was good enough for me. I have two because I have two couplers in my line.

These new ones say they service up to 160 psi. I have my compressor set to stop around 140. So I guess I'll hang on to the receipt and have another visit with them in 2015.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 05:59 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South coast of Texas
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You really only need one regulator. Mine has a female quick connect on the out side and male on the in side. I just plug into any outlet and I have many and connect the hose. Simple.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 07:05 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I run 140 psi kickout on my compressor and as long as I use a quality regulator I don't have any problems . BTW , some regulators don't like being run down all the way so I have a female quick connect before and after the regulator and male quick connect on the hose going to my hose reel so I can switch in a jiffy if I want full pressure and volume for my impact on a stubborn bolt .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 07:16 PM
2ndchanceauto's Avatar
body and paint guy
 

Last journal entry: delivered
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: brighton, TN
Age: 38
Posts: 67
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
with the trigger pulled on a air blower i set mine at 90 psi. never needed more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-25-2010, 07:33 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2ndchanceauto
with the trigger pulled on a air blower i set mine at 90 psi. never needed more
I had to have 140 psi with my earthquake 1/2' impact to break the front axle nut loose on my 2006 1500 Silverado.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 10:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have my 165 compressor turned to shut off at 150, because my regulators are 150 max.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2012, 04:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I found this post is very informative. It has nice information about compressor. Thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2012, 08:25 AM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Back to the original question ..

The higher the pressure that you have in your tank. the more cfm of air you have in reserve. Personally, I am limited by the pressure rating of my safety pop- off valve, which is 145 psi. So my compressor is set to shut off at 140 psi. Running 35 psi through the regulator for painting gives long cycle time between the compressor running. Just saying what works for me. Any good quality regulator should handle 140 psi inlet pressure. The cheap regulators ? Not so much . Big Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2012, 08:54 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Finally some floor!
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Point,IN.
Age: 65
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My compressor cycles at 150psi amd I have a full pressure outlet before and the rest of the outlets after the regulator which is set @ 90psi. Most air tool mfg's recommend 90 max for continuous operation so they get plugged in after the reg. My regulator has the push 'n turn adjuster for more pressure if needed, but this arrangement has suited me well for over 8 years and blown nothing (but air of course). Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2012, 05:42 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,902
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 200 Times in 181 Posts
This is a pretty old thread but possibly due for resurrection for the many new folks here.

As far as pressure settings - mine has a 150psig shut off but seldom use that level of air pressure, trying to usually match the tool to its RATED pressure, therefore saving wear and tear and possible tool failure. Most tools are rated at something like 90psig, especially die grinders. More, that overspeeds them. DA's - probably 90 as well for most as mine is. Take a look at your tools and that nameplate will tell you. Exceeding that - tool companies will love to sell you a new one
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2012, 07:26 AM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 62
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Looks Like It Is Summed Up

With the information given in the last three posts, on this thread, I think all the bases are covered for even a newbie. Only other question I can think of, would be required hose diameter, which we covered in another thread. Happy to re-post if needed.

Big Al
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2012, 10:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey.....I need 200 CFM @ 3 to 8 psi to feed air stones in my indoor food garden. what size compressor will i need to run the stones 24/7. Looking forward to your reply.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eaton Compressor threatens to sue me over "Made in China" compressor post Jon Hotrodders' Lounge 172 08-12-2014 10:04 AM
will this air compressor plan work? snorulz Garage - Tools 16 05-07-2012 10:34 AM
Respectable paint on 120V compressor? Slickriffs Body - Exterior 43 06-10-2010 02:01 AM
air compressor maintenance CaPrI_MaN Garage - Tools 8 10-04-2006 10:14 PM
New Engine Built & Dyno'd babe_n_indy Engine 69 09-09-2004 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.