What Primer is best for multi-surface's - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2006, 11:38 AM
Bleed Blue

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

What Primer is best for multi-surface's

Ok like I've said before im very new to the auto paint world and im about to tackle my first paint job...I cant wait, but I can't rush either! Obviosly going to bare metal is the right way (and only way for some), but in my case whoever, whether professional or not, did a nice job already getting the car straight. In fact if I went to bare metal I feel like I would be doing work that someone else has already done...and most likely better than myself. I plan on sanding down as much paint as I can, and already have in most spots. What I have now is an almost cool looking rainbow of body fillers, red, the cars original primer, glaze / spot putty and some bare metal on parts of the car (door and hood).

For my first coat of primer on top of all this what kind of primer do I use? , do I use a surface, etch primer, or go with an epoxy, then a 2k on top of that..I plan on buying all my products from one company to ensure chemical "friendship".

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-15-2006, 05:58 PM
Bleed Blue

Last photo:

?? Anyone? I'll be ordering paint soon and I just need pointed in the right direction on where to start.
Old 06-15-2006, 07:14 PM
adtkart@aol.com

Last photo:

I would recommend shooting the whole thing with epoxy. The reasoning for this is to seal everything that is there, including the bare metal. You can then spray a 2k primer over that and do any block sanding that you need to do, or add any filler needed over the epoxy.