What would be required to change a 400 SBC to serpentine belt setup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2003, 07:23 PM
banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: alberta
Age: 29
Posts: 1,083
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post What would be required to change a 400 SBC to serpentine belt setup

Just curious about building the engine to have a serpentine belt setup since there are tons of cars out there now with the serpentine belt (caprices with 305 tpi especially)... would all this require some extra acessory holes for the tightening mechanism?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2003, 08:56 PM
BigBlockBabe's Avatar
Missing You
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Marietta, GA
Age: 36
Posts: 300
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

I'm sure it can work the same way as Fords (cause Chevies are cheap and easy. :p )

All I've gotta do to go to a serpentine setup on my 429 is find a late model setup and get all the pullies and brackets.

Or if you've got the coin, March Performance makes some niiiiiiiiice billet serpentine setups, but they are spendy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2003, 10:51 PM
banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: alberta
Age: 29
Posts: 1,083
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

well my thought was to pull the whole setup off of a tbi caprice
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2003, 01:16 AM
E.T. divided by $ spent= Speed
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYS america's unwiped butt
Age: 35
Posts: 1,858
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Post

Depends on what ya mean by serpentine set up.I have a serpentin belt(flat wide)on my 78 montecarlo.It came off my 85monte.All that mine is,is it runs the same as a V belt(around crank,waterpump and alt using alt to adjust tension)except its a flat belt.All I did was change the crank pully,waterpump pully and altenater pully.The PS is still run by a small V belt.Was the only matching pullys I had,also had a new belt,so ya can't beat logic.
If ya mean the setup with the tensioners and idlers and all that,can't help ya.

[ February 10, 2003: Message edited by: 78 monte ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2003, 03:31 AM
aka Duke of URL
 
Last wiki edit: Finding vacuum leaks Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 4,821
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2003, 05:18 AM
jalopy45's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Christmas Valley OR
Age: 66
Posts: 547
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Cool

Take the caprice setup including the water pump, I believe they have reverse rotation, if they do, you could have cooling problems.
__________________
Rods Built By Owners(RBBO)club member
wrecking yard archeologist
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2003, 05:24 AM
xtreme off-road's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

[quote]Originally posted by jalopy45:
<strong>Take the caprice setup including the water pump, I believe they have reverse rotation, if they do, you could have cooling problems. </strong><hr></blockquote>

This is true. If you use a v-belt pump, the impeller will unscrew from the shaft.
<img src="graemlins/drunk.gif" border="0" alt="[drunk]" />
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2003, 06:02 AM
1BAD80's Avatar
The Smell of Nitro in the morn
 
Last wiki edit: How to adjust valves Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mich
Posts: 2,423
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Post

GM has them for after market, depends on the accessories. Approx. price is $285. on up.
www.spoperformanceparts.com/
__________________
Luv the smell of NITRO in the morning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.