whats first steering or headers??? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2011, 01:41 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

whats first steering or headers???

be gentle all im a novice and building my 1st rod a 36 plymouth coupe. im trying to get my steering figured out b/4 i pull the body back off the chassis. i dont know if i should do the headers first and work the steering around them or the other way around. im going to have difficulties with both. i tried block huggers but it came down on top of my gear box (vega) so ill have to pre-fab headers. the steering shaft will to come through or under the headers which will mean at least 2 u joints. im stuck!! i dont want to order steering parts and find out i wasted money due to wrong size. any help would be appreciated and or pictures

thanks all and merry christmas
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-08-2011, 03:45 PM

Last journal entry: Dash Mock-up
Last photo:

You will get different answers on this, but I am in the middle of this right now-I just bought my Seats, and have the engine sitting in place (with Headers)-now I am buying the column, and plan to install it next-

btw, I will also be running two shafts-don't forget the support bearing!
Old 12-08-2011, 06:04 PM
I don't understand?

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:

i would say headers first
because they are going to be harder to move or change
the steering shaft can be made to zig and zag if needed
Old 12-08-2011, 06:19 PM

Last photo: