when to say "when" with bodywork?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2004, 10:56 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

when to say "when" with bodywork??

Hi gang,

I've been working on my '66 Chevelle for 7 years now- I'm a bit of a perfectionist, but this is the first car I've basically put completely back together.. It needed rear quarters, floor pans, trunk, and a million other bits of metal welded in, and thanks to this project I am now a skilled welder-

My issue is this.. I have been working on the car non-stop, and the time has basically come to take it somewhere for paint. I don't have a lot of money to throw at a paint job, and have tried very hard to do my best with the bodywork. There is currently 0 bondo in the car, and I'm proud of how it currently looks without it. However, I'm always working on something on the body, wanting to make the car just a little better- As a result, I'm holding up the process of going the next step, which is letting go and having the final prep done and the paint applied. The biggest reasons I can think of are:

1. I'm afraid of how it will look when it's done, ie all of my flaws will be able to be seen by all

2. I won't be able to go back and do "little" fixes, if something IS visible with the paint, b/c that will take me right back to sand/prep/primer again...

My biggest question is, am I being too much of a nit-pick? I really think I owe it to myself at this point to get the car painted and "finish" the job- I'm just really scared to have a coat of paint make all my hard work look like total crap..

Please let me know what you think, and if you've ever been on the same hump yourself, I'd love to hear about it..

Regards,

CHEV66JB

Advertisement