Where did this power booster get its vacuum? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:12 PM
K and K's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Original 365
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 61
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Where did this power booster get its vacuum?

On 57' Caddy I just picked up with its original 365 motor, I noticed the intake manifold has only one vacuum port and it has a very old looking plug in it which sits just in front of the carb flange right under the pcv inlet of the edlebrock performer carb the previous owner put on. The original power booster has an ancient looking vacuum hose hanging from it but I can not find a port matching its length.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2010, 11:18 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Booster Vac. hose normally goes straight to Manifold port.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2010, 12:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 903
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
K and K,

I just finished working on a 58 caddy brake system.

The vacuum hose goes to the manifold just behind the carb. If you don't have the original manifold you may need to run a longer hose to a manifold vacuum port.

Have Fun
Scholman(retired)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2010, 12:37 AM
K and K's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Original 365
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 61
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But thats just it, I didnt see any manifold vacuum ports behind the carb or anywhere in the manifold except for just in front of the carb directly under the pcv inlet of the edlebrock carb the previous owner put on. Perhaps this was the orginal port for the brake booster when it had the original Rochester carb but now with the Edelbrock it cant work because the PCV inlet is to low?
The intake manifold appears original but I have not found a place to decipher codes and numbers of this Caddy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2010, 06:12 AM
Rickracer's Avatar
ASE Master Tech, Fabricator
 
Last wiki edit: Taurus 2-speed fan control wiring diagram Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 936
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Pretty much every Rochester carb I've seen has a port on the rear for a brake booster, even if it just had a pipe plug in it. Perhaps they never got around to hooking the booster back up after the carb swap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2010, 07:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 903
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
K and K,

Any manifold vacuum will work just fine. Find a longer piece of hose and hook it up. Done!

Scholman(retired)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:23 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,166
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 199
Thanked 249 Times in 231 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by K and K
On 57' Caddy I just picked up with its original 365 motor, I noticed the intake manifold has only one vacuum port and it has a very old looking plug in it which sits just in front of the carb flange right under the pcv inlet of the edlebrock performer carb the previous owner put on. The original power booster has an ancient looking vacuum hose hanging from it but I can not find a port matching its length.
Maybe you can find a spacer plate for the carb that has a spot in the back for the vacuum fiitng, or go back to a rochester carb and put one in there. The edelbrock doesnt have a plug in the back of the base plate you can put a fitting in????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:30 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 61
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latech
Maybe you can find a spacer plate for the carb that has a spot in the back for the vacuum fiitng, or go back to a rochester carb and put one in there. The edelbrock doesnt have a plug in the back of the base plate you can put a fitting in????
My 1405 Edelbrock has a port in the back where I installed the fitting for my power brakes . You may have to pull the carb to find it . Shouldn't be a big deal .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:36 PM
K and K's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Original 365
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 61
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys, I just pulled the carb to rebuild. Its a 1406 and I did find a port in the rear of the carb to use that I couldnt feel. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2010, 01:02 PM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 61
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by K and K
Thanks guys, I just pulled the carb to rebuild. Its a 1406 and I did find a port in the rear of the carb to use that I couldnt feel. Thanks!
You are quite welcome . A 1406 is a 1405 with an electric choke ( I'm told )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
acceleration flat spot in carb. corvettetonybone Engine 17 04-13-2013 08:31 PM
Port or Full time vacuum cool rockin daddy Engine 129 10-05-2010 03:00 PM
Disc brakes without power booster? KNanthrup Suspension - Brakes - Steering 10 01-10-2008 09:02 PM
Do I need vacuum advance? (Long Post) Chevy21 Engine 49 10-25-2007 12:51 PM
Hotrodders Knowledge Cluster: Power Steering Conversions Jon Suspension - Brakes - Steering 0 09-03-2003 11:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.