Where do I start on timing? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2012, 09:05 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Where do I start on timing?

I recently bought a 71 el camino with a stroked 454 (496) and have no information on the motor. It runs pretty strong and has a cam card that says it has a 640 lift and 270 duration, with both valve adjustments at .24. It has a lot of lope but the solid lifters have a couple of clackers. There is more info on the card, but I don't have it in front of me. Is there a standard place to start when it comes to timing? I'm a shade tree mechanic that knows just enough to be dangerous!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-28-2012, 10:50 AM
Veteran/Firefighter-EMT-I CRT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heeb View Post
I recently bought a 71 el camino with a stroked 454 (496) and have no information on the motor. It runs pretty strong and has a cam card that says it has a 640 lift and 270 duration, with both valve adjustments at .24. It has a lot of lope but the solid lifters have a couple of clackers. There is more info on the card, but I don't have it in front of me. Is there a standard place to start when it comes to timing? I'm a shade tree mechanic that knows just enough to be dangerous!

this is for a 350 but it's the exact same process, afterall the distributors are universal.

Old 09-28-2012, 12:47 PM
my KARMA ran over my DOGMA

Last journal entry: SS
Last photo:

Hard to advise in any great detail if we dont know what type of distributor you have or the complete engine/cam spec? There are basic rules of thumb however. With that much cam duration and overlap the motor will want allot of base timing at idle.