Will a 14x2" air filter have good air flow - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:31 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cali
Posts: 106
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 63
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Will a 14x2" air filter have good air flow

Will a 14x2" air filter have good air flow?? This is the only one thats fits under my hood.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:47 PM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 42
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by the82elco View Post
Will a 14x2" air filter have good air flow?? This is the only one thats fits under my hood.
Edelbrock makes a 1000cfm filter that is almost flat and its cheap. I have a c4 vete so not much will fit under the stock hood.

K & N also makes regular round filters in most sizes and they flow a lot more air. Also check out the filter lid every little bit helps.

Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:55 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cali
Posts: 106
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 63
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcompton View Post
Edelbrock makes a 1000cfm filter that is almost flat and its cheap. I have a c4 vete so not much will fit under the stock hood.

K & N also makes regular round filters in most sizes and they flow a lot more air. Also check out the filter lid every little bit helps.

Hope this helps
are u talking about the edelbrock pro-flo 1000. if so i heard that they are trash & don't flow good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 06:12 PM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,636
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 364
Thanked 857 Times in 819 Posts
I had the same problem on my c-3.now I have a bigger hood(see picture)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 06:23 PM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 42
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by the82elco View Post
are u talking about the edelbrock pro-flo 1000. if so i heard that they are trash & don't flow good
Always works for me. Nothing to it and the bottom is a nice venturi shape. I got to think it flows well. Now if you have no hood room and use this filter just for clearence with no space above ot they will not flow well. But if a normal filter fits the proflow should have clearence. If flow is not right then just change the element its just flat foam so no big deal to make a new pne out pf better filter material. But i think its pretty good from the factory. 1000 cfm is a big number and edelbrock is not the type pf company to post dreamed up numbers.

But if you dont like the edelbrock 20 dollar air cleaner you can get k&n setup

k&n makes a 14x2 round filter and you can get the filter lid to give it some help.

Here is a link to show a picture of one. But i think the price seems high this is just the first grab off the google search.

K&N Filters 66-1101 : K&N Filters X-Stream Air Filter Lid 66-1101
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 06:29 PM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 42
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 90 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinniekq2 View Post
I had the same problem on my c-3.now I have a bigger hood(see picture)
Yeah if you want a tall intake in a vette you need a new hood or a hole in your stock one. Torker II and proflow is the next biggest thing that half way works. But really not a soution for big power. Just the stuff that fits.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 06:42 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Corinth, MS
Posts: 629
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Are you using a dropped base air filter housing?
ssmonty
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Base2irf.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	505.3 KB
ID:	69888   Click image for larger version

Name:	Base3irf.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	602.8 KB
ID:	69889  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cali
Posts: 106
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 63
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssmonty View Post
Are you using a dropped base air filter housing?
ssmonty
yea.. but i have a performer rpm intake & a 1" carb spacer so it sits high
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-18-2012, 07:38 PM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,284
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 399 Times in 393 Posts
All you need is to get and use the right OEM 60-70's era corvette air cleaner base.
14x3" filter fits with room to spare when you use the corvette base.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharpe air filter still good? jman340 Garage - Tools 1 01-07-2012 07:07 AM
is their a "spark arestor" in my air filter houseing ? joeshovelhead Engine 5 07-01-2009 05:39 AM
Looking for 14" air filter Jmark Engine 6 01-18-2008 11:18 PM
which hi flow air filter mhamilton Engine 8 03-21-2006 07:38 PM
14" air filter Jmark Engine 1 05-31-2004 07:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.