will a 350 fit? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2004, 09:24 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
will a 350 fit?

as you know i know nothing about mechanics as of yet, but i have an opportunity to get a chevy 4 bolt main with a cast number on the block of

c
01
20

will it fit in a 65 pontiac lemans, will i have to do alot to make it fit?
any help will be greatly appriciated.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2004, 09:30 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age: 32
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sure, it will fit easily. You might have to change the engine mounts, but there is plenty of room for it. I am running one in a 1966 LeMans I just bought.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2004, 09:32 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks

hey cheezebay, i appriciate it very much, will it hook right up to a powerglide tranny?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2004, 09:53 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Age: 32
Posts: 64
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
As far as I know it should. I have been thinking about using one on mine. I have a 350 turbo, but I have problems with mounting my starter on the motor and have been told that with some powerglides I can mount the started on the bell housing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2004, 10:28 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,236
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 30
Thanked 296 Times in 276 Posts
If you are trying to use the two speed trans that came in the Lemans you may have a bellhousing problem. The Pontiac two speed has a different bolt pattern than the Chevy, but adapters are available. Just use V-8 Chevelle frame and motor mounts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:25 AM
stepside454's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. louis area
Age: 48
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
stay Pontiac power. I love SB Chevys, but Chevy crossbreeds are no fun, uninteresting. just my 2 cents. John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 05:43 AM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
find a pontiac 350, it will bolt right up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 07:39 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 17,028
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 24
Thanked 330 Times in 257 Posts
Whats in the Lemans now, 6 or V8?

If going with the Chevy motor, get a turbo350, they are a dime a dozen.....well, not quite, but cheap. You will be much happier.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 12:56 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
currently has V-8

my lemans currently has a 389 in it, it runs great, but i dont want to take the 389 and get all kinds of honing and goring done to it, trying to keep engine pretty original.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:22 PM
stepside454's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. louis area
Age: 48
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if your consirned about keeping things pretty original, get another Pontiac motor. I realize there not as cheap as chevys, but by the time you buy a differant tranny, brackets ,starter etc, etc etc, you may as well stay Pontiac. Also, starters are on oppisite side, so youll have to butcher some of the wiring to go with a Chevy engine.
When finished, itll be much cooler with a Pontiac than a Chevy engine , in my opinion anyway, but than, its your car. John
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 04:53 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: texas
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i agree

your right john, i agree with you, i do wanna stay with the pontiac power, and yes it will probably wind up costing the same in the long run, thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2004, 11:23 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 17,028
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 24
Thanked 330 Times in 257 Posts
Like you said, the 389 runs great, so why change anything?
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2004, 03:53 PM
Tazz
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: amherst,ohio
Age: 66
Posts: 2,049
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
chevy or Poncho power??

Whats wrong with running the 389? Does it smoke or drip oil all over? Please explain your thinking.


Tazz


Rat Rods Rule!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2004, 03:46 PM
bullheimer's Avatar
NEVER use credit cards!
 

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: North of Seattle
Posts: 2,532
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
i agree. build the poncho. use that SBC for a boat anchor. hahahahahahaha. oh yeah. i have one too! but at least its in my chevy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.